Oven Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I read this recipe at 10pm on Saturday and had to have some so I made the recipe as written that night and they were great. No more craving french fries for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
These were great! I made them on the grill since it was hot out and they were very tasty and not sugary at all. Perfect with the hamburgers we grilled out. Next time I'll use more pepper to season them a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I used sweet potatoes. The flavor was good but they did not come out crispy. Despite my turning them in the oven a few times, they kept burning at that high of a temperature and I had to pull them out early. They were limp with burned parts. If I try it again, I'll reduce the temperature. They burned on the bottom despite being on a lined pan and they burned at the top where the edges were thinner and on the ends. They only made it through about 20 minutes of cooking before there were charred ends and bottoms. The sugar coating also started to make them stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
The sugar was an interesting twist, but roasted potatoes are better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
These turned out very good. I used olive oil, which I hand-rubbed onto the sliced sliced potatoes. Then sprinkled seasonings over both sides of fries and rubbed in a bit, adding quite a bit more cayenne and some salt-free Greek Seasoning, as had used sea salt with the other spices. I have done oven fries many times before, always spraying the pan with Pam, placing the potatoes on, sprinkling them with spices, then spraying the potatoes with Pam and cooking at 425. The olive oil works better, I think, or maybe the difference is the sugar (I just sprinkled that over the fries and probably used quite a bit less than a tablespoon), but should have Pam-ed the pan, as they stuck quite a bit when done. They tasted great, tho, and that is what we cook for! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Very popular. I think the crispier, the better for these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fadano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Yum. I have been making oven fries for years but never thought to put the mixture of salt, sugar, cayenne on them pre-baking. Duh? These taste so much more savory than the old way I did it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I made these last night for dinner,my husband loved them. They were not crispy, but we did not mind. The thinner you cut them the more crisp you will get. I did line my pan with foil and spray with cooking spray, worked well but did have to turn fries over every 15 min and I baked at 450 for extra 10 minutes. I did add some onion salt and garlic powder as others suggested will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
The sugar is a great idea! Another tip is to put the baking sheet with oil on it in the oven to get hot before you put the potatoes on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czeri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Very very good! Was skeptical about the sugar... but you would never know there's sugar added, and the fries tasted like deep-fried fries. My guests loved them! This is my new fry recipe! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States