Oven Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These are great fries! I added some garlic and onion powder but otherwise followed the recipe. I would definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Was okay. Left out the cayenne. Mine were done at 25 mins. Next time would remember to use kosher salt. And don't forget to spray foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Fantastic!! My kids loved the "Homemade French Fries"! Instead of cayenne pepper (they don't do spicy), I used rosemary. Next time I'll try another herb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I was excited after reading the great reviews but ,ine didn't rate highly. The reciped didn't say to flip the fries halfway through. I didn't, and they came out soggy and stuck to the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This recipe is the closest I haved come to crispy fries in the oven, I do think the sugar makes all the difference. I did lower the oven temp to 425, ready in 30 mins. Also very tasty with just a bit of old bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I read this recipe at 10pm on Saturday and had to have some so I made the recipe as written that night and they were great. No more craving french fries for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
These were great! I made them on the grill since it was hot out and they were very tasty and not sugary at all. Perfect with the hamburgers we grilled out. Next time I'll use more pepper to season them a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I used sweet potatoes. The flavor was good but they did not come out crispy. Despite my turning them in the oven a few times, they kept burning at that high of a temperature and I had to pull them out early. They were limp with burned parts. If I try it again, I'll reduce the temperature. They burned on the bottom despite being on a lined pan and they burned at the top where the edges were thinner and on the ends. They only made it through about 20 minutes of cooking before there were charred ends and bottoms. The sugar coating also started to make them stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
The sugar was an interesting twist, but roasted potatoes are better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
These turned out very good. I used olive oil, which I hand-rubbed onto the sliced sliced potatoes. Then sprinkled seasonings over both sides of fries and rubbed in a bit, adding quite a bit more cayenne and some salt-free Greek Seasoning, as had used sea salt with the other spices. I have done oven fries many times before, always spraying the pan with Pam, placing the potatoes on, sprinkling them with spices, then spraying the potatoes with Pam and cooking at 425. The olive oil works better, I think, or maybe the difference is the sugar (I just sprinkled that over the fries and probably used quite a bit less than a tablespoon), but should have Pam-ed the pan, as they stuck quite a bit when done. They tasted great, tho, and that is what we cook for! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Duck Fat Steak Fries

Duck fat is the key to incredibly crisp baked steak fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States