Oven Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
These fries are incredible! The sugar makes perfect sense now that I've had them. I swapped out a bit more olive oil for the vegetable oil and added chili powder instead of cayenne. I'll definitely make these again and will try all sorts of flavor combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Amazing! I'm never buying frozen fries again! These were outstanding. When I was preparing this recipe I thought there was no way that the small amount of coating ingredients would be able to cover all of the potatoes well enough, but it all did! My husband, who LOVES the frozen bagged fries told me that he liked these way better than the storebought kind. This recipe is a definite keeper that I will be making time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
My first attempt at oven fries and they were perfect. I forgot the sugar though. I did use salt, garlic powder, pepper, and seasoned salt. I cut the wedges and poured olive oil over with the seasoning. I used non-stick foil sprayed with cooking spray. Cooked for exactly 30 mins on 450 with no issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Stobbe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I am on a quest to find a recipe for oven fries that we like. Unfortunately, this one isn't it. The fries weren't as crispy as I had hoped. I added some black pepper and garlic salt also, but I still thought the flavor was lacking something. The recipe didn't mention spraying the pan with cooking spray, so I didn't. Big mistake - although my fries weren't burnt, they were completely stuck to the pan. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was very good.The trick to keep them from sticking to the pan is not only oil the pan, but place the potatoes skin side down.That way they did not stick at all.I left them in the oven an extra 10 minutes to brown them a little more.I was worried they would be sweet with the sugar but they weren't.I made these with "Thats a Meatloaf" a recipe from this site.I will definitley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
they stuck to my well-sprayed, aluminium foil-lined pan and therefore weren't as "fry" like as i'd hoped. i'll try them again though, because the reviews are quite agreeable and my deepfryer makes me fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lebrun family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
i omitted the cayenne pepper and followed the recipe to the letter, and they were outstanding! next time, though, i will follow another rater's suggestion to make them crisper for my 4 year old son. he only ate the crisp ones. i'd also suggest using a non-stick spray because the oil in the recipe wasn't enough to keep the fries from sticking. i will be making this again - this morning, actually! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christianna Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Didn't use the pepper as suggested by another rater. I mixed sweet potatoes with the russets and it is great. family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
These were GREAT! My hubby and I loved them! I was really worried that they would taste too sweet with the sugar, but NOT AT ALL! It just crisps them up perfectly! The cayenne adds a nice heat to the fries, but if you don't like that, I would change it up and use a different spice. Although, Salt and Pepper alone would be great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belle Plaine, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I used Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning instead of the cayenne pepper. I also sprayed the foil on my baking sheet with olive oil spray. Although my fries were not "crispy", they still were very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Duck Fat Steak Fries

Duck fat is the key to incredibly crisp baked steak fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States