Oven Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was my first attempt at "oven" french fries. I'm loathe to deep fat fry anything, but love the flavor of french fries, so decided to try an oven version. I have to say these were very good! I used a special "french fry" potato cutter. This was easier than I expected. The coating was just right for one potato. I used parchment paper instead of foil--this elimates all the "stuck to the pan" issues, and doesn't require extra oil or Pam. I baked them at 450 and turned half way. They were good! A couple of singed spots, but not to the point they were ruined. They are certainly not as crisp as deep fat fried, but then again, you save about a billion calories, and still have the great flavor of french fries with your steak or burger or whatever. It's a keeper. P.S. I would cut down on the cayenne. Maybe because I used just one potato, but the "kick" was a bit much for our palettes. Next time we will try the garlic salt, as recommended by other reviewers. Don't forget--use parchment paper instead of foil. No sticking! Maplegirl2005
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
These were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bertrand, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These are incredibly yummy, but I think next time I'm going to rub vegetable oil over the foil instead of using spray so the spray doesn't get burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Great recipe. I added a few seasonings I knew we would like. Check often... as they seemed to cook faster than I thought after reading some previous comments. (I have a new oven which may have been the cause)?! 1st time I've ever had homemade oven fries that were YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
The sugar is the key ingredient. It didn't make them sweet, but really enhanced the flavor. The potato was thoroughly cooked, but they didn't come out crispy. sprayed a bit of oil onto my non-stick cookware and they did not stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
These turned out pretty good, I halved the recipe and added a little bit of garlic powder and seasoned salt. I did spray the foil but found they did still stick a little and looked burnt...however they did not taste burnt and tasted very much like they came from the deepfryer. Pretty yummy, and less calories & fat :) Will definetely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Baked at 425 so as not to burn per other reviews and this did not make them crispy. Fries did have a good flavor but next time will bake at 450 to see if I get more crispyness. BF loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Yup, as another reviewer said it's the sugar that makes these brown up and crisp, which I've rarely had happen before when making oven fries. Will use this method from now on, very versatile as well, think I'll do cajun fries next. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
These are really great! Was looking for an alternative to deep frying potatoes for fish and chips. This really hit the spot! I did the shake and bake in a bag trick, but next time I don't think I'll season that way. I think it would be better to season on the pan so you can control better. I look forward to trying these with other seasonings. My husband suggested old bay and I was thinking tex-mex or even with bacon then dipping in sour cream. YUMMY! Thanks for the great recipes! I'll be using it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keyser, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I loved these! And so easy. I'm so happy to have this recipe. The only things I changed were the spices (I used Emeril original and garlic powder in place of Cayenne) and I used olive oil instead of vegetable and doubled the amount of oil. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Duck Fat Steak Fries

Duck fat is the key to incredibly crisp baked steak fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States