Oven Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
mine did not turn out. not sure what happened, but won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I was so disappointed! I cut the potatoes into 1/2 inch strips, like the recipe said. But on the picture, the potatoes are definitely wedges. I followed the rest of the directions exactly and ended up with soft-cooked fries with burnt edges, caked to the foil. What a waste of time :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
We've tried several recipes for oven fries but none turned out either crispy or tasty. This did both! Parchment paper is key (over the tin foil) in my opinion. Love 'em! Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was my first attempt at "oven" french fries. I'm loathe to deep fat fry anything, but love the flavor of french fries, so decided to try an oven version. I have to say these were very good! I used a special "french fry" potato cutter. This was easier than I expected. The coating was just right for one potato. I used parchment paper instead of foil--this elimates all the "stuck to the pan" issues, and doesn't require extra oil or Pam. I baked them at 450 and turned half way. They were good! A couple of singed spots, but not to the point they were ruined. They are certainly not as crisp as deep fat fried, but then again, you save about a billion calories, and still have the great flavor of french fries with your steak or burger or whatever. It's a keeper. P.S. I would cut down on the cayenne. Maybe because I used just one potato, but the "kick" was a bit much for our palettes. Next time we will try the garlic salt, as recommended by other reviewers. Don't forget--use parchment paper instead of foil. No sticking! Maplegirl2005
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
These were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bertrand, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These are incredibly yummy, but I think next time I'm going to rub vegetable oil over the foil instead of using spray so the spray doesn't get burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Great recipe. I added a few seasonings I knew we would like. Check often... as they seemed to cook faster than I thought after reading some previous comments. (I have a new oven which may have been the cause)?! 1st time I've ever had homemade oven fries that were YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
The sugar is the key ingredient. It didn't make them sweet, but really enhanced the flavor. The potato was thoroughly cooked, but they didn't come out crispy. sprayed a bit of oil onto my non-stick cookware and they did not stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
These turned out pretty good, I halved the recipe and added a little bit of garlic powder and seasoned salt. I did spray the foil but found they did still stick a little and looked burnt...however they did not taste burnt and tasted very much like they came from the deepfryer. Pretty yummy, and less calories & fat :) Will definetely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Baked at 425 so as not to burn per other reviews and this did not make them crispy. Fries did have a good flavor but next time will bake at 450 to see if I get more crispyness. BF loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States