Oven Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I think would have worked better with out foil. Dipping them in less oil with spices and also oiling sheets. Probably more calories, but these melded to foil and burned in spots. Mine did not turn out like fries very much. Still ate them, but need tweaks in the recipe or try a different one on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Very Good. Bake 25 minutes, (30 too much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
So, so delicious. I followed some of the suggestions - 425 oven instead of 450 & parchment over the foil. I also just sprinkled the potatoes with olive oil, then salt, pepper & sugar, then made sure they were coated using a small plastic bag over my hand. Baked for 30 min., turned them and then baked another ten minutes at 375. This is definitely a keeper and one that I will make again and again. It is now two hours since dinner and my husband is still raving about them. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
very good, sugar seems to be the new twist. In re: the confusion about red pepper, please note that red pepper flakes are not the same as cayenne pepper. Cayenne is a find ground red powder. I can understand if one confused the two that red pepper flakes would not be good in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Love this recipe..but I also cut an onion up and cook along with the potatoes..gives it a little more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
The only thing I did differently was add garlic and basil. Everything else I kept the same. This was excellent. Thank your for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Toddler loved them, we all did! used black pepper instead of cayenne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
love these! we make them all the time at our house, so easy. we don't usually use the sugar though just a little salt pepper and oil is good for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ulrich1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I have made it many times following the recipe exactly and it is great as is. Last night I made it to go with Maxwell St. style polish sausage sandwiches and I tweaked the recipe a bit and I actually enjoyed it more than before. I used 2 sweet potatoes, 4 russet potatoes, 2 teaspoons of olive oil, a good sprinkle of Lawry's seasoning salt, 1 tablespoon of white sugar, a nice sprinkle of cayenne pepper, put them on a cookie sheet coated with canola cooking spray, baked them at 450 for about 20 minutes, flipped them and baked them another 20 minutes, when I took them out to flip them I sprinkled them with kosher salt. They were delicious! I actually enjoyed the sweet potato fries more than I did the russet potatoes and so did my kids who usually don't like sweet potato fries. Yum! Thank you for a wonderful recipe that can be used as is or modified to your individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Best oven fries recipe we've tried. Had a little burn-on-the-bottom, might turn it down to 425 degrees next time. Used paprika instead of cayenne, which we were out of. One of the few dishes everyone has loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Duck Fat Steak Fries

Duck fat is the key to incredibly crisp baked steak fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States