Oven Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
The sugar was an interesting twist, but roasted potatoes are better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
These turned out very good. I used olive oil, which I hand-rubbed onto the sliced sliced potatoes. Then sprinkled seasonings over both sides of fries and rubbed in a bit, adding quite a bit more cayenne and some salt-free Greek Seasoning, as had used sea salt with the other spices. I have done oven fries many times before, always spraying the pan with Pam, placing the potatoes on, sprinkling them with spices, then spraying the potatoes with Pam and cooking at 425. The olive oil works better, I think, or maybe the difference is the sugar (I just sprinkled that over the fries and probably used quite a bit less than a tablespoon), but should have Pam-ed the pan, as they stuck quite a bit when done. They tasted great, tho, and that is what we cook for! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Very popular. I think the crispier, the better for these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Yum. I have been making oven fries for years but never thought to put the mixture of salt, sugar, cayenne on them pre-baking. Duh? These taste so much more savory than the old way I did it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I made these last night for dinner,my husband loved them. They were not crispy, but we did not mind. The thinner you cut them the more crisp you will get. I did line my pan with foil and spray with cooking spray, worked well but did have to turn fries over every 15 min and I baked at 450 for extra 10 minutes. I did add some onion salt and garlic powder as others suggested will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
The sugar is a great idea! Another tip is to put the baking sheet with oil on it in the oven to get hot before you put the potatoes on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czeri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Very very good! Was skeptical about the sugar... but you would never know there's sugar added, and the fries tasted like deep-fried fries. My guests loved them! This is my new fry recipe! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I was highly impressed. I really think the sugar is key to the flavor *and* crispness. And the cayenne (I added a little more than a pinch) added the perfect kick. I added sweet potato to the regular potato and could have eaten the whole batch. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Just what I was looking for! My hubby even liked these better than the fried ones! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLI_RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnsdall, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vera, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I also used Sweet potatoes along with regular potatoes on the same cookie sheet,lined with parchment paper ,both were yummy.I cut my potatoes and put them in a plastic bag and add what ever I want,that day.Onion,garlic,sugar,salt etc...and use the bag to evenly coat potatoes,toss bag after using,no mess...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States