Oven Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
NOTE TO ALL - Don't forget to coat pans with oil!!!! Don't skip the oil. I read someone's review that blasted this recipe for not telling you to oil the pan. And I said, "Huh - what a fool, it says it right there 'coat pan with vegetable oil'" I set my husband up with the recipe. Guess what - no oil. He missed that part. Skipped right over it. The fries stuck to the pan and were over cooked and under cooked and were STILL good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Made these tonight to go with our grilled hamburgers and hotdogs. The sugar adds the right touch. I did use garlic salt on half and cajun seasoning on the other half. Even my picky 2 year old ate some dipped in ketchup! Great alternative to the deep fried version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
These are yummy! My family loves homemade fries, and for health reasons I had had enough of the deep fryer! I looked for an oven recipe and found this one, and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
These fries are incredible! The sugar makes perfect sense now that I've had them. I swapped out a bit more olive oil for the vegetable oil and added chili powder instead of cayenne. I'll definitely make these again and will try all sorts of flavor combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Amazing! I'm never buying frozen fries again! These were outstanding. When I was preparing this recipe I thought there was no way that the small amount of coating ingredients would be able to cover all of the potatoes well enough, but it all did! My husband, who LOVES the frozen bagged fries told me that he liked these way better than the storebought kind. This recipe is a definite keeper that I will be making time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
My first attempt at oven fries and they were perfect. I forgot the sugar though. I did use salt, garlic powder, pepper, and seasoned salt. I cut the wedges and poured olive oil over with the seasoning. I used non-stick foil sprayed with cooking spray. Cooked for exactly 30 mins on 450 with no issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I am on a quest to find a recipe for oven fries that we like. Unfortunately, this one isn't it. The fries weren't as crispy as I had hoped. I added some black pepper and garlic salt also, but I still thought the flavor was lacking something. The recipe didn't mention spraying the pan with cooking spray, so I didn't. Big mistake - although my fries weren't burnt, they were completely stuck to the pan. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was very good.The trick to keep them from sticking to the pan is not only oil the pan, but place the potatoes skin side down.That way they did not stick at all.I left them in the oven an extra 10 minutes to brown them a little more.I was worried they would be sweet with the sugar but they weren't.I made these with "Thats a Meatloaf" a recipe from this site.I will definitley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
they stuck to my well-sprayed, aluminium foil-lined pan and therefore weren't as "fry" like as i'd hoped. i'll try them again though, because the reviews are quite agreeable and my deepfryer makes me fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lebrun family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
i omitted the cayenne pepper and followed the recipe to the letter, and they were outstanding! next time, though, i will follow another rater's suggestion to make them crisper for my 4 year old son. he only ate the crisp ones. i'd also suggest using a non-stick spray because the oil in the recipe wasn't enough to keep the fries from sticking. i will be making this again - this morning, actually! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christianna Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States