Oven Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
made this for a late nite snack...i usually have trouble getting them crispy but not with this recipe...i scaled it down for 2 and i ate them all with malt vinegar....sheesh but am very happy with this recipe and will forsure make it again...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
this was my first tyle making fries and these turned out great! purfectly cooked throught and not burnt on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Made them the other day. They were very good. I first tried them with the cayenne pepper but it was too hot so the next time I made them I skipped the pepper. This is a great dish and I prefer these baked fries rather than fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This is such a quick and easy way to make fries. I was worried they would taste sweet, but they didn't. Mine never crisped up, but the flavor was really good. I had no problems with them sticking to the pan. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I set my oven to 425 and places the fries skin-side down as others suggested. When I saw that the tips were beginning to turn very dark brown and the surfaces had a browned, 'bubbled' texture. They weren't super crispy, but the taste and texture were delicious anyways. I will probably make these often, I HATE sticking potatoes in huge vats of hot oil, I've done it for years and I never look forward to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
NOTE TO ALL - Don't forget to coat pans with oil!!!! Don't skip the oil. I read someone's review that blasted this recipe for not telling you to oil the pan. And I said, "Huh - what a fool, it says it right there 'coat pan with vegetable oil'" I set my husband up with the recipe. Guess what - no oil. He missed that part. Skipped right over it. The fries stuck to the pan and were over cooked and under cooked and were STILL good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Made these tonight to go with our grilled hamburgers and hotdogs. The sugar adds the right touch. I did use garlic salt on half and cajun seasoning on the other half. Even my picky 2 year old ate some dipped in ketchup! Great alternative to the deep fried version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
These are yummy! My family loves homemade fries, and for health reasons I had had enough of the deep fryer! I looked for an oven recipe and found this one, and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
These fries are incredible! The sugar makes perfect sense now that I've had them. I swapped out a bit more olive oil for the vegetable oil and added chili powder instead of cayenne. I'll definitely make these again and will try all sorts of flavor combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Amazing! I'm never buying frozen fries again! These were outstanding. When I was preparing this recipe I thought there was no way that the small amount of coating ingredients would be able to cover all of the potatoes well enough, but it all did! My husband, who LOVES the frozen bagged fries told me that he liked these way better than the storebought kind. This recipe is a definite keeper that I will be making time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Duck Fat Steak Fries

Duck fat is the key to incredibly crisp baked steak fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States