Oven Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Yup, as another reviewer said it's the sugar that makes these brown up and crisp, which I've rarely had happen before when making oven fries. Will use this method from now on, very versatile as well, think I'll do cajun fries next. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
These are really great! Was looking for an alternative to deep frying potatoes for fish and chips. This really hit the spot! I did the shake and bake in a bag trick, but next time I don't think I'll season that way. I think it would be better to season on the pan so you can control better. I look forward to trying these with other seasonings. My husband suggested old bay and I was thinking tex-mex or even with bacon then dipping in sour cream. YUMMY! Thanks for the great recipes! I'll be using it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keyser, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I loved these! And so easy. I'm so happy to have this recipe. The only things I changed were the spices (I used Emeril original and garlic powder in place of Cayenne) and I used olive oil instead of vegetable and doubled the amount of oil. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
These were great! I would check them @ 25 minutes. Ours burnt the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I made these tonight and the flavor wasn't that great and they were more on the chewy side not really crispy. They stuck to the oiled foil. I'm probably not going to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
made this for a late nite snack...i usually have trouble getting them crispy but not with this recipe...i scaled it down for 2 and i ate them all with malt vinegar....sheesh but am very happy with this recipe and will forsure make it again...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
this was my first tyle making fries and these turned out great! purfectly cooked throught and not burnt on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Made them the other day. They were very good. I first tried them with the cayenne pepper but it was too hot so the next time I made them I skipped the pepper. This is a great dish and I prefer these baked fries rather than fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This is such a quick and easy way to make fries. I was worried they would taste sweet, but they didn't. Mine never crisped up, but the flavor was really good. I had no problems with them sticking to the pan. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I set my oven to 425 and places the fries skin-side down as others suggested. When I saw that the tips were beginning to turn very dark brown and the surfaces had a browned, 'bubbled' texture. They weren't super crispy, but the taste and texture were delicious anyways. I will probably make these often, I HATE sticking potatoes in huge vats of hot oil, I've done it for years and I never look forward to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States