Oven Fries II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Delish! I just sprayed the bottom of my baking sheet with cooking spray, then sprayed top of taters with cooking spray, & sprinkled salt, garlic powder, & paprika on top. (no olive oil used) Baked up crispy on outside & soft inside. I will surely make these again. I did turn them over about the last 10 min. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this recipe tonight using one potato as a test. I peeled it, microwaved it for 5 minutes and cut it as directed. I drizzled light olive oil on a cookie sheet and after placing the potato pieces on the sheet lightly drizzled more light olive oil on the potato pieces and sprinkled sea salt on them as well [no paprika]. My oven was at 425. The fries browned up very nicely. When the tops looked browned "enough", I sampled one, then I turned them over for a few more minutes for browning the other side. They were perfect. My daughter and son-in-law, who both order take-out fries all the time, couldn't rave any more than they did over these. Coincidentally, they had been waiting for a delivered pizza and fries when I had them try mine and when they ate the delivered fries they said they tasted like grease and they would make their own from now on. Btw--I didn't record the time, but the cooking time was less than 40 minutes. I think nuking just one potato for 5 minutes cooked it faster than had there been three potatoes. The fries were crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. And also, btw, they were cut the size of steak fries. I had tried this recipe because I was looking for a healthier alternative to "real" fries, because my 13 month old granddaughter, Abby, enjoys fries and now she can enjoy healthier ones. I must also add that I put the cookie sheet at the very bottom of the oven. Steam rises so crispy results. Thanks for the recipe. -- Proud Grandpa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whtip
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I added meat pieces on top. Fries were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Very good easy to make... Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great idea to pre-cook potatoes in microwave. I prefer thinner fries than they recommend, but the recipe turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
YUM! I mixed the paprika with salt and shook it onto the fries. I flipped these after 20 minutes to make sure they browned evenly. These were delicious, and so easy to make. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Delicious, I made a batch of these last week, and I'm heating up the oven for another batch right now! These make an awesome side dish for any meal, and were very tasty with horseradish sauce (my favorite!) I left the skins on because they added a wonderful, crispy touch. This is one of my favorite ways to prepare potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Goes great with most dishes. I added 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder. I ate mine with breakfast eggs. I will be making them again with burgers or steak. I will never buy them frozen premade again. I wish I had this recipe when I was pregnant. Thanks for the formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I'll be making this again! Turned out great. Made one batch at 45 minutes at 425 and then another batch for 45 minutes at 350. Preferred the latter; turned out less crunchy, but both were delicious. Forgot about the paprika, but added garlic powder and parmesan cheese. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slattekm

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Duck Fat Steak Fries

Duck fat is the key to incredibly crisp baked steak fries.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States