Oven Fried Potatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Don't care for potatoes or grease very much so based on personal preference I'd have to give this recipe 3 stars. I probably won't do it again for tat reason, but if I did, I would definitely cut back to 1/4 cup of butter and 3-4 slices of bacon. Overall, recipe is decent, just not my favorite food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roz Simms
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Just took my pan out of the oven. Taste tested and Approved! I used white potatoes, 1 1/2 onions with lots of bacon, kosher salt& pepper. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roz Simms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
5++ stars. When my husband tells me to keep a recipe, that's serious business, lol! I only had 4 russets so that's what I used. I used 3 T of butter and a bit less bacon (only because bacon is like gold in this house). I also added a small bell pepper from the garden and next time I'll add a jalapeno. I had to cook mine longer and I added sharp cheese at the end. They were glorious and reminded my husband of Irish Potatoes that we used to get when we were in college from a local pub type restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Great, delicious meal. I was skeptical of the raw bacon like others mentioned but it was so good. The only tweak I made was I omitted a few pieces of the bacon. Mine did not come out greasy at all (let them set up a little bit after pulling them out before we ate them.) Will cook again, definitely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Jackay
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I made these last night and enjoyed-though had to make some adjustments. I had adjusted the servings from 6, down to 2, so I had to adjust the baking time somewhat. Besides having less potatoes in the dish, baking time is also somewhat dependent on how they are cut. The recipe says to "thinly slice" the potatoes, but neither photo showed thinly sliced potatoes. I cut mine into ½ in. cubes. Rather than the 45 minutes, I checked them after 30 minutes and the potatoes were well cooked, but because they had been sealed under the foil, they were simmering in liquid that had cooked out. I uncovered them, turned the oven to "Lo-broil" and placed the rack one notch lower than the top, and it took them another 20-25 minutes (stirring every 3 or 4 minutes) to dry up the liquid and crisp up. After cubing them, I put them in a bowl and tossed with garlic salt, then spread in the pan, put the onions and (pre-cooked and cut up) bacon over as instructed, but I melted the butter in a little dish and drizzled over rather than trying to "dot" the butter. Some mentioned them being too greasy. Mine were not in the least bit greasy. Of course I did use precooked bacon which has less fat. I also used Smart Balance margarine, but they were very tasty. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I used precooked bacon and it worked perfectly. No grease! Just enough flavor. I only used one tablespoon of butter. I baked it at 375 degrees because I was cooking italian sausage in the same oven. After 45 minutes everything was cooked but I did put the potato dish under the broiler for a few minutes. Not really necessary with the precooked bacon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Amazing, definitely making these again! we ate every scrap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
OMG these are Yummy I make mine like in the recipe except I don't put onions and I sprinkle with Garlic Salt, Seasoned salt and a lil seasoned pepper before baking. And I also Put Colby Jack Cheese on them half way threw baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kym Standiford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
While the over all taste is accomplished we are not thinking heart smart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr Science

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosharon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Way too much grease. To really save, cook the potatoes in the oven with just a little sprinkle of olive oil, cook the bacon separately, then dice it and put on the potatoes after they are done. No added butter is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States