Oven Fried Potatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jackay
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I made these last night and enjoyed-though had to make some adjustments. I had adjusted the servings from 6, down to 2, so I had to adjust the baking time somewhat. Besides having less potatoes in the dish, baking time is also somewhat dependent on how they are cut. The recipe says to "thinly slice" the potatoes, but neither photo showed thinly sliced potatoes. I cut mine into ½ in. cubes. Rather than the 45 minutes, I checked them after 30 minutes and the potatoes were well cooked, but because they had been sealed under the foil, they were simmering in liquid that had cooked out. I uncovered them, turned the oven to "Lo-broil" and placed the rack one notch lower than the top, and it took them another 20-25 minutes (stirring every 3 or 4 minutes) to dry up the liquid and crisp up. After cubing them, I put them in a bowl and tossed with garlic salt, then spread in the pan, put the onions and (pre-cooked and cut up) bacon over as instructed, but I melted the butter in a little dish and drizzled over rather than trying to "dot" the butter. Some mentioned them being too greasy. Mine were not in the least bit greasy. Of course I did use precooked bacon which has less fat. I also used Smart Balance margarine, but they were very tasty. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I used precooked bacon and it worked perfectly. No grease! Just enough flavor. I only used one tablespoon of butter. I baked it at 375 degrees because I was cooking italian sausage in the same oven. After 45 minutes everything was cooked but I did put the potato dish under the broiler for a few minutes. Not really necessary with the precooked bacon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Amazing, definitely making these again! we ate every scrap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
OMG these are Yummy I make mine like in the recipe except I don't put onions and I sprinkle with Garlic Salt, Seasoned salt and a lil seasoned pepper before baking. And I also Put Colby Jack Cheese on them half way threw baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
While the over all taste is accomplished we are not thinking heart smart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr Science

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosharon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Way too much grease. To really save, cook the potatoes in the oven with just a little sprinkle of olive oil, cook the bacon separately, then dice it and put on the potatoes after they are done. No added butter is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
No need to use butter, there is enough fat in the bacon(Just plain YUMMY!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
These were yummy! We love butter but I think I'll cut back a little, other than that it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Excellent! I was skeptical adding raw bacon, but it was delicious! Definitely a 'keeper'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I think I used too much butter or maybe my bacon wasn't lean enough because I found them a little greasy BUT they tasted great. I'll definately make these again. If your anything like me and have trouble making all the items ready at the same time you can turn the oven up to 500F and let them bake without the foil for about another 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puddycats

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States