Oven Fried Chicken IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This chicken was excellent. My family really enjoyed it. I didn't have any cereal to use for the coating, so I used a combination of crushed crackers and homemade breadcrumbs. It turned out great. Next time I will add the full amount of garlic - I cut it a bit becuase it seemed like to much, but it needed the garlic. I thinned the sour cream with a little milk, which made it coat more evenly. I think the sour cream is the key to this chicken, and that whatever breading and seasoning you prefer to use will be fine. I was amazed at how juicy the meat was and how crispy the outside got. The cooling rack idea worked so well. I would recommend skinning the chicken - I skinned a few pieces and then got lazy and left the rest on, and I didn't think the skin added much (except fat.) I used various chicken parts and all came out great - I'm always on the look out for recipes that work well with the less expensive cuts of chicken, and this was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Awesome chicken recipe! I did take suggestions and altered it a bit: I mixed ALL of the seasonings (I used garlic powder, salt, cumin, oregano and thyme) into the sour cream PLUS I added crushed French fried onions (the kind that usually goes on top of green bean casserole). I also added some more crushed french friend onions into the crushed cornflakes. And, I used boneless chicken thighs. The chicken was moist and the coating was crispy. Easy recipe and will definitely make again! LEFT OVER NOTE.....With the left overs, I put them in the oven at 400, topped with spaghetti sauce and mozzarella cheese and served over pasta. A great way to make 'chicken parm'. Family went nuts over it and didn't realize it was the chicken from 2 days before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimbo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Great recipe! The second time I made this, I used skinless drumsticks, lowfat sour cream and a seasoned bread crumb coating instead of corn flakes. This is about as low fat as I can or want to get when I cook! The family had no idea it was a "lower fat" fried chicken! Make sure you season the sour cream (salt, soy sauce, pepper, herbs, whatever you like). Using warming racks to cook the chicken on really helps too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Wow, this was the best oven fried I've had! I did alter the recipe by thinning the sour cream with buttermilk and seasoning with the same spice as the coating. I used skinless breasts. What makes this recipe great is you get a thick and crunchy coating that TASTES fried! Thanks for sharing--this is how I'll do ckicken from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This recipe was a hit!! However, I used different spices. I used fat-free sour cream and seasoned it with seasonings like garlic powder, salt, pepper and Paprika. I didn't have any sage or Rosemary. I didn't have cornflakes so I used breadcrumbs and I seasoned them with Italian seasoning. I also didn't have any minced garlic. The sour cream covered the chicken very heavily and so this made the final result a nice thick coating. I did use the cooling rack and it worked out fine. No coating fell off during cooking. It was delicious! I can't believe it wasn't fried! My family will love to have this a part of their regular meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Delicious and less messy than regular fried chicken, although a little heavy on the garlic. It helps tremendously to put the spices in the sour cream rather than the corn flakes, since that way they kind of melt into the chicken while it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I liked this recipe but I would recommend adding the herbs and spices to the sour cream instead of the cornflake crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Great recipe! I followed it exactly and it turned out perfectly! I took her advice and served it with cheesey mashed potatoes, and it went great! For the potatoes I used McLarens Imperial aged chedder (it comes in that round red container). I also added some sour cream, and some fresh minced garlic. A couple tblsp of whipping cream added a nice rishness too. I'm sure butter would work though. My family loved it, and most of us went back for seconds. We'll be making this one again for sure! Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Loved this recipe! I am not much of a meat eater but I went back for seconds. My husband approved. A great way to make faux fried chicken! I did add a little more salt, pepper and garlic powder and I used homemade yogurt instead of sour cream. I'm going to use less rosemary next time though, it was a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Wow! This was the best chicken I may have ever made. As a single mom, I'm always looking for fast, healthy recipies. This was so easy to follow, and my son just LOVED it! I used skinless boneless chicken breasts, because that's all I had, but other then that, I did exactly what the recipe said. I'll deffinetly make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States