Oven Fried Chicken IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I personally thought this was only an "okay" recepie at best. It sounds really great on paper, & even smells nice while cooking. My family however, thought it tasted like stuffing, & they all refuse to eat stuffing (or this) again... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
My family liked this recipe because it was not soaked in grease. Although next time I will spice it up a bit. Chicken was moist but kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I was disappointed with the outcome and was so let down after the effort. I didn’t follow the recipe exactly on the seasoning level only. I added garlic powder, thyme, sage, chicken seasoning, salt, pepper and chilli powder. Perhaps this is where it fell apart but the cream mixture of sour cream and a splash of half and half cream I was sure would add something different. It didn’t matter one bit, sour cream added nothing but extra fat and cost where water and any seasoning mixture would do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This recipe came out excellent. I did use yogurt instead of sour cream and I used half corn flakes and half bread crumbs. I also used Italian seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. Cooking on the rack made such a difference. My family loved it. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Poor flavor, tastedd only of corn flakes. They were a bit mushy, also. My husband and I didn't enjoy and won't be trying it again, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly except for mixing the spices into the sour cream instead of the cornflakes. I did not care for it. I ended up drizzling it with oil and putting it under the broiler to try to get it to crisp, with mild success. Still it had a bad flavor, almost sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Yogurt (greek style) also works in place of the sour cream. You can use pretty much whatever you have in your pantry in place of cornflakes... some suggestions: potato chips, panko, crushed rice crackers. I was going to try rice crispies cereal but forgot to this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I can't cook but I CAN follow a recipe--this one is AWESOME! I took some of the other reviewers' recommendations of thinning the sour cream with milk as well as adding spices it instead of adding them to the breadcrumbs. I also skinned the chicken breasts (3) that I cooked for this first time out. Again, AWESOME and will use this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Followed the directions exactly, except that instead of using the rosemary, sage, and garlic powder I used a couple of spoonfuls of an herb mix that I already had ('country herb seasoning'). It was delicious! Boyfriend approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Good chicken, mixed seasoning in with the sour cream and used bread crumbs since thats what I had on hand. My only complaint is that it took much longer to cook than stated. I had to put the drumsticks back in the oven after we had all sat down to eat. In all, it took about 1.5 hrs to bake at 350 degrees F. Maybe it was because of all the coating? Thanks for the recipe, but I still prefer mayo to the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjs_mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Westby, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States