Oven Fried Chicken IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Great recipe! The second time I made this, I used skinless drumsticks, lowfat sour cream and a seasoned bread crumb coating instead of corn flakes. This is about as low fat as I can or want to get when I cook! The family had no idea it was a "lower fat" fried chicken! Make sure you season the sour cream (salt, soy sauce, pepper, herbs, whatever you like). Using warming racks to cook the chicken on really helps too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Wow, this was the best oven fried I've had! I did alter the recipe by thinning the sour cream with buttermilk and seasoning with the same spice as the coating. I used skinless breasts. What makes this recipe great is you get a thick and crunchy coating that TASTES fried! Thanks for sharing--this is how I'll do ckicken from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
The flavor was good but the coating didn't stay on too well and I did use the cooling rack. All things considered I would make this again, experimenting with the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I didn't want to mess with trying to coat both sides of my chicken leg quarters. So I simply placed the chicken into a casserole dish, spread the sour cream mixture on top and then sprinkled on the corn flake coating. I must say it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Okay, maybe 3 stars isn't fair because I really didn't stick to the recipe. Like a previous reviewer, I just placed my chicken in a baking pan, covered it with the sour cream mixture and put the spice mixture on top with bread crumbs instead of corn flakes. It was okay, but nothing special. My husband really liked it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This recipe was a hit!! However, I used different spices. I used fat-free sour cream and seasoned it with seasonings like garlic powder, salt, pepper and Paprika. I didn't have any sage or Rosemary. I didn't have cornflakes so I used breadcrumbs and I seasoned them with Italian seasoning. I also didn't have any minced garlic. The sour cream covered the chicken very heavily and so this made the final result a nice thick coating. I did use the cooling rack and it worked out fine. No coating fell off during cooking. It was delicious! I can't believe it wasn't fried! My family will love to have this a part of their regular meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
Sorry, this just didn't come out tasting anything like fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This is an excellent recipe! My family loved it. I didn't have the rosemary, but it came out great anyway. I added the garlic and some soy sauce to the sour cream. I lightly salted the chicken parts prior to coating. My family loved it! I've never cooked with cornflakes before. This was an excellent experiment, which I will use frequently. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
This was delicious, and the single piece leftover was great for lunch, cold, the next day. I added onion powder and paprika, a tablespoon each. Spraying the cooling rack with non-stick cooking spray first alleviated any sticking concerns. Using the cooling rack is a must. It was not as crisp as I expected, so next time I make this, I will up the oven to 375 for the last few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
This chicken tasted great..even better than fried! My boyfriend had seconds, then an hour after we ate he made a chicken sandwich, so I know he liked it too. It was really moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States