Oven Fried Chicken IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Excellent! The entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Meh, not bad. I would never mistake it for fried chicken, though. I mixed the spices and some extra ones into the sour cream, and used rosemary flavored potato chips instead of cornflakes. The flavor was good, but as usual with baked chicken pieces (I used only drums with the skin removed) all the flavor was on the outside - leaving most of the inside meat kinda blah. I also ran into the problem with blood from the bones looking kinda black and unappetizing... but there was a trick somewhere in the comments to remedy that. I might try this recipe again with breast tenders, since the pieces would be small (more outside flavor) and the sour cream really keeps the meat nice and moist...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Great recipe. I've tried a lot of oven fried chicken recipes, and this one is by far the best. I use drumsticks without the skin. Like some of the other cooks, I put some seasonings into the sour cream, and I change the crust to whatever I have on hand. I also like to mix a little Parmesan cheese into it when I use bread crumbs. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This recipe was pretty good but it could be better. I need to try different seasonings than what the recipe called for. I believe changing spices up will make it tastier. I will drizzle butter over the top of the breaded chicken before baking next time. A buttery crust would improve the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandyLogan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was just "okay" for me. My daughter, who is not a picky eater, did not like this much. I think if I were to make this again, I would definitely play with the spices a bit. I don't really care for rosemary, and sage only in certain things. I would probably try some Italian seasonings, and better garlic than what I had on hand. The crispy coating slid off some of the chicken, so that was a bummer. The chicken itself was good, moist, but not very flavorful. For me, this recipe needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Coating came out crispy and flavorful. I used a tofu sour cream substitute due to allergies in the family and it came out great. I added some additional spices and took several other reviews to put the spices in the "sour cream" mixture. I used bone in chicken breasts and the meat juices were sealed inside by the coating. The meat was extremely juicy and tender. I hate dry chicken. The coating stuck to the chicken well. It was a hit with my family. I will definitely put this in rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
FANTASTIC! I also marinated mine in Bud Light Lime and Chalula garlic hot sauce over night! So tender and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by @},--'-----

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Per reviews I added the spices to the sour cream. I omitted the corn flakes (didnt have) and the chicken came out crispy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I gave this a 5-star, even though I changed 2 things, because I never would've thought of making chicken this way! Rather than using sour cream I used yogurt (with just a little milk to thin it a bit)...I also added the spices to the yogurt rather than the corn flakes. Otherwise, followed the recipe and the chicken was excellent...super juicy on the inside and just the right amount of crunch on the outside. SUPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I made almost the same as wrote, except used all drumsticks and poultry seasoning as I didnt have any sage. I also put seasoning in the sour cream and the cornflakes. It was only OK. I was quite disappointed. It didnt have a spectacular flavor, it was pretty bland. probably wont make this again... Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldae23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States