Oven Fried Chicken IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This recipes is good, but I twicked it a little. Not big on the rosemary, so I used Italian Herb seasoning & plain yogurt instead of sour cream. Also, it is better if you season the meat 1st, then dip it in the yogurt & cornflakes. My family loved it & I will use this as one of my quick go to meals!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I made this chicken tonight for dinner and I was pleasantly surprised by how moist yet crunchy it still was. Initially when I put the chicken into the sourcream mixture I was daunted by it because it was so thick and I figured that between that and the cornflakes I'd end up with a soggy, yucky mess. This was so not the case. It didn't burn or become to soggy or too dry it was perfectly moist without being overmuch. I did make some changes I added additional garlic powder and onion powder and some paprika and hot sauce to the sour cream mix. Also unless your a huge fan of rosemary and sage I highly recommend putting in half of those herbs I didn't and it was way to overpowering. I'll adjust for next time. I didn't have oven safe racks so I put the chicken on a oiled cookie sheet with a bit of a lip so no drippings could escape and cause a fire. Nothing stuck and it came out ok. I recommend keeping the herbs in the crumbs and all the other seasoning in the sour cream mix. I also recommend using one egg just to make the sour cream mix a little looser and to bind it all together. All in all I would make this again and again. I paired the chicken (drumsticks and cutlets) with mashed garlic potatos and low fat pillsbury biscuits and gravy. also and additional tip use about 1 1/4 cup sour cream mix instead of the 2 cups. I had alot of excess sourcream. Hey those could be used for the mashed taters or as a dip. Want not waste not. Hope this helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Awesome chicken!! I cut down the recipe and used only 6 chicken drumsticks. They still needed to bake for a bit more than 1hr to lose the bloody juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I lovd this recipe! I didn't have sage so had to do without and even at that it was great. The only problem I had was getting the chicken evenly coated with the flakes but I'll be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Truly the BEST "fried" chicken I've made!!! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Really good coating. The sour cream really is the key. I used a suggestion from one of the reviews to use a cooling rack on top of a cookie sheet which worked really well. I think the chicken breasts I used the first time were just too large to get the coating fully integrated. the next time I will use different pieces, add cayenne to the mixture, and spray a little butter on the coating to help crisp it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I thought this was a great starter recipe. Lots of room for playing with this recipe. I made it the other night just as the recipe calls except I halved everything because I was only making 3 servings. I used hind quarters also instead of legs or breasts adjusting the cook time just slightly and they came out really good. I found the garlic little too much for me but my husband and son loved it. I think next time I will halve the garlic I used and add some honey or dijon mustard for a little more flavor next time, but I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I personally thought this was only an "okay" recepie at best. It sounds really great on paper, & even smells nice while cooking. My family however, thought it tasted like stuffing, & they all refuse to eat stuffing (or this) again... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
My family liked this recipe because it was not soaked in grease. Although next time I will spice it up a bit. Chicken was moist but kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I was disappointed with the outcome and was so let down after the effort. I didn’t follow the recipe exactly on the seasoning level only. I added garlic powder, thyme, sage, chicken seasoning, salt, pepper and chilli powder. Perhaps this is where it fell apart but the cream mixture of sour cream and a splash of half and half cream I was sure would add something different. It didn’t matter one bit, sour cream added nothing but extra fat and cost where water and any seasoning mixture would do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States