Oven Fried Chicken IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I had high hopes for this recipe, however my family and I did not like this recipe at all. It called for too much rosemary and it overpowered the dish completely. I found that other than that, the actual chicken itself was bland. Would have been better perhaps with much much less of the herbs and if the chicken were seasoned prior to coating in the sour cream/garlic mixture. I don't think I will be trying this one again unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddysgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was great! I made a few changes though. I used plain yogurt mixed with a little buttermilk instead of sour cream, cornmeal instead of corn flakes and thyme instead of rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason0475

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendship, New York, USA
Living In: Cuba, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
the best chicken recipe I have ever used. the bottom was soggy and most of the crumbs had fallen off BUT everything else was very crunchy and tasty! I only used (LOTS of) basil and garlic salt. Basil and garlic salt went into the crumb mixture & garlic into the sour cream. I didnt need all that was asked for in this recipe for sour cream but another cup of cornflakes. I used chicken fillets (5) and used my turkey roaster..our oven isnt working. Im incredibly full as I write this. VERY tasty!!! Ill save my cornflakes for this recipe. Must try it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ideas44

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I was hoping it would have a more fried feel and it did not, my daughter enjoyed it a lot. It was not bad, I just did not care for the texture of the cereal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
It was my first time making oven fried anything. My husband did not like it... It was ok for me. One thing I marinated bone in chicken breasts in sour cream with buttermilk for about 6 hours before cooked them. When I start to eat I realized my chickens looked so fresh even though they were frozen pieces. Next time when I oil fry them I'll marinate them in sour cream or buttermilk. One more thing, REMOVE THE SKIN before oven fry them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Hi Cooks! This and so many other recipes on the web make it sound like ya have to cook, Julia Child Style. It's a simple recipe but I made it simpler. I'm single, just wanted to make one Breast with ribs, but you can adapt the amounts of things to how much ya want to make. No need for measures, just get in the kitchen, mix until your happy. :) I've made similar recipes putting the seasonings in Cornflakes or Bread Crumbs, they always sift to the bottom leaving somewhat tasteless breading. I mixed seasonings with the sour cream and smeared that breast like it was Sat. night with a friend. lol That way the seasonings stuck to the Breast then added the cornflakes. They stick much better. I questioned why Chopped Garlic plus Garlic Powder so I just added more fresh garlic, also used fresh Rosemary from the garden, usied Poultry Seasonings rather than Sage. Oh, added Paprika for color and a bit more flavor. It was fantastic, so much easier and less dishes/measuring spoons to wash. For side dishes, do you toss out those tuff long stems of broccoli you pay for? Such a wast of $. Slice them up in thin strips, stir fry with onions, leeks, or bell peppers in a bit of olive oil and butter, S&P, of course. Add some Soy Sauce if ya like or I prefer a bit of Sesame Seed Oil drizzled on top.. Another easy side would be some left over rice, seasoned as you wish, I had small Pasta Shells left, seasoned them with Olive Oil. S&P Next time will mix everything together. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
YUM! Seems a bit strange but oh sooooo good! For a bit of a twist substitute Cayenne for rosemary and sage. I also add a bit of the spice to the sour cream mixture. I usually do this with boneless breasts cut into strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Back2Basicsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was really good. I used breasts with skins on but next time, I will use skins off and it will be perfect. Even my kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
LOVED IT! My tip would be to raise the wire racks as high as possible so the bottom will get just as crispy. I used an extra deep cookie sheet and laid the cooling racks across the tops instead of inside. I also lined my cookie sheets with foil for easier clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking4-3Guys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Coat the chicken LIGHTLY. Everything else is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erynotyuki
Home Town: Coplay, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States