Oven Fried Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I made a few changes simply because these are the items I had. Used reduced fat mayo and fat free sour cream as my base. For the chicken, I had boneless, skinless thighs. This turned out perfect. Not greasy or oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I use a very similar recipe for my boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Of course, you need to season the chicken before you put the mayo on, and not put the mayo on too thick. I use Best Foods Olive Oil Mayo. I did not have any breadcrumbs, so I crushed up some Everything Ritz crackers - delicious! I also mix a little seasoning into the mayo before spreading it on. Moist, delicious and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by springschick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe!!! I also changed it up like Cheryl Bobbs did. I mixed half mayo and half milk before adding the chicken to the bread crumbs. It came out delicious. :) My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
The flavor was good, but it never really got crispy. In retrospect, I think I used a "too small" baking dish. It probably would have been helpful to use a baking dish where the chicken wasn't crowded. I might also try halving the butter, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is my go to recipe for oven fried chicken! LOVE IT! some tips and ideas.. first for all you anti mayo people - you dont have to use mayo. what you need is something for the breadcrumbs to stick to. that is the purpose of the mayo. and you don't "GOOP" it on, use a basting brush for the mayo, or whatever base you're using to keep the bread crumbs on. My daughter calls it painting the chicken!and it can be fun (keep in mind that chicken needs to be handled carefully re salmonella and all that - standard operating practice there)you can keep the base thin or thick as you like. AND you can add seasonings to your mayo like dry packaged ranch, italian or PESTO! garlic, onion!, you know your family's tastes best! and you can also use whatever base you want! Try thousand island dressing! Ranch! Sour Cream! Yoghurt! Low calorie, full calorie... so many choices! Also, if you use a salad dressing or thinned yoghurt you can marinate!!!just take the pieces out and press into your crumbs. and now for the breadcrumbs - again so many choices based on what you have on hand or prefer: Crushed croutons, Cornflakes, Crackers of any kind crushed, potatochips even - This is a FUN recipe! thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I would compare this to putting Mayo on French fries, not a good idea and I did not care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Mayo is "sticky" and maybe that's why it was chosen to hold the crumbs. Then I thought, what else is sticky? Minced garlic surely is! So if less or no mayo is desired then the garlic and ?? could be used. Oil is slippery, milk not so much either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Tried it; didn't like it. Too oily and not enough seasoning. If we're going to eat this much fat in our chicken, I'll just use my family's old recipe and fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is a good recipe if you want something different from regular fried chicken. However, as written, it is not "healthier" than pan or deep fried chicken, it is actually higher in fat and calories. If you don't believe me, check out the nutrition information for the Crispy Fried Chicken recipe! It is definitely less messy and tastes good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This is a recipe I've been searching for!!! I do not like fried chicken (way to much oil) and this will do me nicely. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States