Oven Fried Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe!!! I also changed it up like Cheryl Bobbs did. I mixed half mayo and half milk before adding the chicken to the bread crumbs. It came out delicious. :) My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
The flavor was good, but it never really got crispy. In retrospect, I think I used a "too small" baking dish. It probably would have been helpful to use a baking dish where the chicken wasn't crowded. I might also try halving the butter, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is my go to recipe for oven fried chicken! LOVE IT! some tips and ideas.. first for all you anti mayo people - you dont have to use mayo. what you need is something for the breadcrumbs to stick to. that is the purpose of the mayo. and you don't "GOOP" it on, use a basting brush for the mayo, or whatever base you're using to keep the bread crumbs on. My daughter calls it painting the chicken!and it can be fun (keep in mind that chicken needs to be handled carefully re salmonella and all that - standard operating practice there)you can keep the base thin or thick as you like. AND you can add seasonings to your mayo like dry packaged ranch, italian or PESTO! garlic, onion!, you know your family's tastes best! and you can also use whatever base you want! Try thousand island dressing! Ranch! Sour Cream! Yoghurt! Low calorie, full calorie... so many choices! Also, if you use a salad dressing or thinned yoghurt you can marinate!!!just take the pieces out and press into your crumbs. and now for the breadcrumbs - again so many choices based on what you have on hand or prefer: Crushed croutons, Cornflakes, Crackers of any kind crushed, potatochips even - This is a FUN recipe! thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I would compare this to putting Mayo on French fries, not a good idea and I did not care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Mayo is "sticky" and maybe that's why it was chosen to hold the crumbs. Then I thought, what else is sticky? Minced garlic surely is! So if less or no mayo is desired then the garlic and ?? could be used. Oil is slippery, milk not so much either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youmichaelmouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Tried it; didn't like it. Too oily and not enough seasoning. If we're going to eat this much fat in our chicken, I'll just use my family's old recipe and fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is a good recipe if you want something different from regular fried chicken. However, as written, it is not "healthier" than pan or deep fried chicken, it is actually higher in fat and calories. If you don't believe me, check out the nutrition information for the Crispy Fried Chicken recipe! It is definitely less messy and tastes good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Good flavor but was soggy, not crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
not good at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mannie Litts
Living In: Altmar, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I was disappointed by this recipe. I don't think I've ever been disappointed by a recipe so well-rated on this webpage! I've made real fried chicken in oil one time before and it called for the chicken to be brined. I felt like maybe that is what this recipe needed?? It had the moistness and I guess the crunch of the bread crumbs but the chicken really lacked flavor! When I made the fried chicken in oil, I just could not stop taking another bite, even though it wasn't perfect. But with this bake fried chicken, I just could not bring myself to eat a lot of it. I know the two recipes are not the same but I just didn't think this was good. I'm not heavily into salty foods, fried foods, or a picky eater. I eat rather plain and have been happy with a variety of recipes offered on this webpage. Just not this one. I even went through the first few helpful reviews too to make changes. Overall it was just bland. I felt like the blandness was in the chicken meat, even though the bread crumb seasoning could be bumped up too. I used leg and thigh meat with skin on. Leaving skin on made it harder to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Baked chicken with homemade BBQ sauce.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States