Oven Fried Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this for dinner last and it was so good. The flavors of all the seasonings was wonderful. Thanks Elizabeth Hinlely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I had such a high expectation on this recipe because of the high mark. To me, it was ok and the taste was rather bland. I used 10 drumsticks with skin that were about 3LB total, and I didn't make much of the modification other than using half panko and half Italian bread crumbs, and cooking temperature and time. The meat was moist and tender, for sure, and the coating came out as I liked. So for that, I gave 3 stars. One thing that I wasn't sure about was the cooking time. There was no way the chicken would come out in 45 min at 350 degrees temperature. I followed 45 min at 350 first, and noted not much juice coming out of chicken, so increased to 375 degrees and cooked another 30 min. 3LB or whole chicken would sure take longer than 45 min, especially if the temperature was only 350 degrees. As mentioned above, chicken meat was moist and tender, but other than the crust, meat itself didn't have any kind of flavor, and it was a bit greaser because of mayo and skin. I didn't particularly impressed with using mayo, as I didn't taste mayo anyway. It just gave me an extra grease. Maybe better using other liquid (like milk) for coating. No need to grease a cooking pan, as enough grease would come out of chicken anyway. I would rather want to trim excess fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Made this several time and always a hit. Although I would recommend baking this on a wire rack so as to ensure crispy skin all over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jlzturner
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
My guys absolutely LOVED this recipe! The only changes I made were: I baked it for 45 minutes on 365 as I have a gas stove and I always seem to need to go a little higher than 350. Also, I cut down on the thyme just a little. The chicken was extremely moist and very, very tasty. The bottom was just a little soggy as this dish creates some grease, but other than that, it was great! Maybe next time I'll use tinfoil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlzturner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is a healthy way of cooking a delicious fried chicken. Everyone at home really enjoyed the food. The only thing I added to the recipe was the preparing method of the kitchen before coating it in bread crumb mixture. I placed the chicken pieces in a mixture of lemon juice, black pepper, salt, onion powder, and garlic powder for 30 minutes. I also replace the mayonnaise with full scrambled egg. And finally the delicious chicken is ready :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Definitely a keeper. If you're really fat-conscious, use low fat mayo. It still keeps the chicken moist and the coating crisp! I also think baking the chicken on an oiled rack would guarantee it's crispiness. Some of my pieces were a bit soggy on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I mixed the half cup mayo with half cup milk. My family LOVED it!!! Baked perfect in 45 minutes! I will try some of the variations that I have seen in the comments. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe and it turned out finger licking good the family loved it. Now Im the King of fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Very good warm; even better cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Was deliciously moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veritas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 804) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

A quick and tasty way to jazz up your chicken dinner.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Baked chicken with homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States