Oven Fried Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is my favorite way of doing fried chicken now. It comes out nicely crisp with just a small amount of oil. Leftovers were great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
[5/13/12] pretty greasy but good. used 1/2 cup butter instead of oil. added white pepper. needed more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I made 10 pieces (breasts, legs, wings), ran a little short on bread crumbs but the flour amount was plenty. Added salt, pepper, garlic, onion powder and the paprika to the flour. Used half oil, half butter, which I heated while the chicken was resting after being coated. Cooking time and temp was right on, though I did let the breasts go an additional 10 mins since they were bigger than the other pieces. BF gave it 4 stars I give it 3.5, only because I found the bread crumbs to be meh, flavor-wise. Mine did crisp up nicely though, oh, maybe because I gave the tops a quick spray before they went into the oven. Overall, a good meal, I'd just like a different flavor in the coating. Will use this method again and experiment with the seasoning/breading. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Wow. When I followed the advice of reviewers in augmenting this recipe the results were awful. I'll give it 3 stars because I didn't follow the original recipe exactly. I added panko crumbs to my bread crumbs (wouldn't do that again), substituted PAM for the oil in the dish, added a splash of milk to the eggs, and baked for 30 minutes on 350 degrees, then 30 minutes on 375 degrees. The coating didn't crisp up much and looked visually unappealing. The meat was done, but tough and difficult to remove from the bone. My boyfriend and I made a competition of this, and he deep-fried regularly two of the drumsticks to compare. His were light-years better and what fried chicken should be! This oven-fried attempt didn't stand up in any way. In the past I've used the Oven Fry (Kraft brand?) box sold at the store and like it. But won't be trying any variation of this particular recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Made this as per the recipe and really liked it. I used panko breadcrumbs and seasoned it myself. I also put the pan in the oven to heat the oil then placed the thighs skin side down for the first 30 minutes. I turned them skin up for the last 30 turning up the heat to 375 for 10 minuites. Crispy - not greasy. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Added hot sauce to eggs and simply sprinkled chicken seasoning and cayenne on the skinless thighs before flouring, then followed instructions. As suggested by several other reviewers, did not use the oil; sprayed foil-lined pan with PAM and then sprayed the chicken with it too when placed on the foil. Crispy yet tender with a great coating.Thanks, Cookie240, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I use all chicken parts, and in the bread crumbs i mix in parmesan cheese, and instead of the oil I put a pad of butter (about a teaspoon) on each pice of chicken, works better and tastes better than oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was very greasy and flavorless. Three stars because husband said it was ok. Will not make this again. I even let it set on papertowels and it was still mushy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
My husband always wants fried chicken. I can't fry chicken. I made this and he seriously thought it was fried chicken. I substituted butter for the oil. And added tony's. the temp and baking time was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States