Oven Fried Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This recipe was pretty good but I think it calls for way too much oil. I only used about 2-3 TBSP per pan (had to use two 9X13 pans, due to so much chicken). I find that the chicken itself creates lots of grease as it cooks, so I don't need all that extra fat. As some other reviewers suggested, I used a gallon size ziplock bag to shake the flour on, then let the chicken sit for about 15 minutes before dipping in the egg wash (with hot sauce), and then the bread crumbs. I even made some country gravy with the pan drippings. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
My family loved it. I did use the spray for the pan and just two Tab. of oil instead of 1/2 cup. Freezer bag for the flour so grandson could help (less mess). The chicken is also great cold .Will make a great picnic dish for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
VERY GOOD, TENDER & MOIST CHICKEN. I ADDED A LOT MORE SPICE TO THE FLOUR. I HAD ALOT OF EGG LEFTOVER, MAYBE TWO EGGS WOULD BE ENOUGH WITH A LITTLE MILK. I USED SOME MEATY CHICKEN LEGS ALONG WITH THE THIGHS, AND WOULD DEFINITLY USE A ZIPLOCK BAG FOR THE DRY INGREDIENTS, LESS CLEANUP THAT WAY. NOTHING BEATS REAL FRIED CHICKEN, BUT THIS WAS VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I use this basic recipe, but instead of an egg wash, coat the chicken with mayonnaise and then coat with breadcrumbs. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
DYN-O-MITE!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I've made this recipe before, and many times. Not from this site, just from my brain. One suggestion I will make, do not add oil to the pan. Instead, use Pam or cooking spray the bottom so the chicken won't stick. The oil from the chicken is enough, especially if you don't take the skin off the chicken first. But if you are going skinless, the spray will be just fine. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.Naehu808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Nice and tender! My brother made this for dinner yesterday, and he NEVER cooks but it came out well. It WAS too greasy though, he should have read the other reviews but it was nice nevertheless. (Even without the breaded bits)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I've been making my chicken like this for years, except I do NOT add the oil to the baking pan. I spray it, and bake skin side down for first half hour, turn and finish baking. Enough fat bakes out of skin and no extra fat is needed. Very Good that way. LOVE my way ;>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My family has been doing this baked fried chicken forever. Always a winner, but I do cut back on the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is an easy to make recipe. I used ziploc bags for the flour and bread crumbs. I did as some of the other reviewers suggested and split the chicken into two pans and did not use the oil. I sprayed my pans. My family loved the chicken. This was a nice, flavorful addition to our new year's dinner. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States