Oven Fried Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
We really loved this chicken. I didn't use that much oil and I played around with the recipe a bit using buttermilk instead of eggs and playing around with the breading ingredients but I liked this method with the oil a lot. I make a lot of oven fried chicken and this was really good. I did have a mix of drumsticks and thighs and the drumsticks seemed to work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I liked that this recipe was easy to make and didn't need a lot of ingredients. I read all the helpful reviews and modified my recipe. I used chicken drumsticks, cooking spray, parchment paper and panko Italian breadcrumbs instead. I cooked the drumsticks exactly according to the recipe. I think because I sprayed the chicken with Pam and used panko breadcrumbs, it resulted in a very crispy coating without the greasiness. Will go in the regular menu rotation! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This was delicious! I added creole seasoning to the flour and Mrs. Dash and salt to the egg, I also didn't measure the oil, instead I just coated the bottom of each pan... If I had to guess I'd say I used closer to 1/3 cup of oil. Family loved it and I loved the ease of it. This recipe was definitely an instant hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Just made this. My whole family loved it. Used Panko instead of seasoned bread crumbs since I was serving it with seasoned rice. A bit greasy for me so I may reduce the oil next time. But there is going yo be a next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I make this at least once a month. I raise the oven temperature to 375 and lower the cooking time a bit. This seems to give a better crisp to the coating without overcooking. Some comments say it's greasy, but if you drain on paper towels as the recipe suggests, and let it "rest" for a few minutes, it's perfect. I guess you could use Pam, but without the oil in the pan, you don't get that awesome "fried chicken" coating. I have used milk mixed with the eggs (only because I was low on eggs) and I don't notice any difference in taste at all. I've also tried it with boneless chicken but you cannot bake it long enough to get that crispy coating without killing the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I seasoning my flour with 1 tsp. garlic and 1 tsp. onion powders 1 tsp. Italian Seasoning & 1 tsp. of parsley. Then season the chicken with salt and pepper directly. Panko Bread Crumbs is used for that added crunch. the chicken come out very flavorful and it smells so good cooking. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
MAde this Saturday for the kids and grand kids. OF COURSE!! No ritz crackers, no bread crumbs. I substituted a combination of Sunshine Wheat saltine crackers, cheddar/ pretzel crackers and plain panko. I had to double the dry ingredients and stretch the eggs with milk for 12 large chicken legs. I patted the legs dry. I used gallon zip bags for the dry ingredients. I added Old BAy seasoning with salt & pepper in the flour and Everglades to the last toss. I followed the baking directions & everyone came out brown and delicious. Everyone was happy with the oven fried legs. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthe kitchen247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arcadia, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I didn't find the breading stuck to the chicken as well as I would have liked. It never crisped up the way I had hoped it would. The meat was pleasantly moist and tender, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Omnivore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Appointment much easier and better tasting than pan frying!! I add some vanilla flavored coffee creamer to my eggs for a hint of sweetness. I also remove the skin first so the chicken gets crispier. This is officially my one and only fried chicken recipe. I sometimes add some grated parmesan to the breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States