Oven-Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
My husband and I are from the South and we know how unhealthy these foods can be. We are always looking for healthy alternatives to these comfort foods. I was skeptical when I was making this recipe and thought my family might not like it. I was wrong! My husband and kids LOVED this recipe!!!!! We were fighting over the last pieces. Note, I did increase the oven to 450 degrees and I used catfish pieces instead of filets. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Coating is just enough for 1 1/2 lbs of catfish nuggets. Make sure to dip in milk - if you don't the cornmeal coating will be too dry and won't even cook. Go easy on thyme - is strong. Make sure not to over cook fish. Pull out nuggets once they start to curl. Even husband who is not crazy about fish couldn't stop eating these! And SO MUCH more healthy than fried!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suchi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Very good recipe. I dipped the fish in egg instead of milk and turned out just fine. Can be a little bit on the salty side do I would be careful with that. Also, for someone who does not like the fishy taste this might not be your favorite. Adding a dash of lemon helped with the fishiness. I don't mind the fishy flavor. That's what they're supppose to taste!! Very easy recipe! Worth the try and re doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marichan0210

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Loved this recipe. I had to change some of the spices that the recipe called for because I didn't have them, but overall good recipe. I cooked my fish for a little over 40 mins though, they were big pieces - but they didn't come out dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaTanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is really good. It is easy and my husband loves it! He asks for it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TerassaT
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great recipe!! I used Swai fillets, not catfish. Was perfect. I wanted to say that it was salty, but when I wasn't looking my hubby added some Old Bay seasoning, then the 3 year old wanted to get involve and added more sea salt... But besides that, the color, texture and crispiness was perfect for this recipe. I served it with a side of rice and sauteed zucchini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
First catfish fillet I've eaten the whole thing of! Husband was shocked to see me eat the whole fillet! Usually I can handle only 2 bites of any catfish, no matter how it's cooked. I shocked myself on this one! It's a record!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belzoni, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Best catfish recipe ever! Used panko for half of the corn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My family loved this! My pickiest eater said it was "awesome"! I made nuggets instead of fillets. If you do this I recommend doubling the breading. This recipe is a keeper, will definitely be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Simple and delicious! I picked up some catfish yesterday and planned to bake it with lemon and butter. I found this recipe and decided to try it to change things up. Wow! Husband and kids liked it; it was super-easy to make. I didn't have celery seed, but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Oven-Fried Chicken III

With or without the skin, this oven-fried chicken always bakes up moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States