Oven-Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I didn't think the thyme went well with the fish, but the other seasonings and cooking technique were good. Next time I'll skip the thyme and raise the oven temp to 450 to get a little more crispness in the coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Came out soggy and didn't love the seasoning -- too heavy on the paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
It was really surprising to me that you can make fried catfish in the oven just using cooking spray. It comes out basically the same way as pan-fried fish. I've used this method on other types of fish like tilapia and orange roughy. It's much faster and cleaner than pan-frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I didn't have any cornmeal so I used bread crumbs instead. Turned out beautifully. Perfect mix of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I made this and loved the flavor of the fish. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I tried this recipe today. If I make it again, I would cut the salt in half. Too salty for my taste. The spices worked out fine. I did cut back on the black pepper. Seemed too much for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
My husband and I are from the South and we know how unhealthy these foods can be. We are always looking for healthy alternatives to these comfort foods. I was skeptical when I was making this recipe and thought my family might not like it. I was wrong! My husband and kids LOVED this recipe!!!!! We were fighting over the last pieces. Note, I did increase the oven to 450 degrees and I used catfish pieces instead of filets. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Coating is just enough for 1 1/2 lbs of catfish nuggets. Make sure to dip in milk - if you don't the cornmeal coating will be too dry and won't even cook. Go easy on thyme - is strong. Make sure not to over cook fish. Pull out nuggets once they start to curl. Even husband who is not crazy about fish couldn't stop eating these! And SO MUCH more healthy than fried!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suchi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Very good recipe. I dipped the fish in egg instead of milk and turned out just fine. Can be a little bit on the salty side do I would be careful with that. Also, for someone who does not like the fishy taste this might not be your favorite. Adding a dash of lemon helped with the fishiness. I don't mind the fishy flavor. That's what they're supppose to taste!! Very easy recipe! Worth the try and re doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marichan0210

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Loved this recipe. I had to change some of the spices that the recipe called for because I didn't have them, but overall good recipe. I cooked my fish for a little over 40 mins though, they were big pieces - but they didn't come out dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaTanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Oven-Fried Chicken III

With or without the skin, this oven-fried chicken always bakes up moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States