Oven Fresh Seasoned Potato Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Great seasonings in this recipe. I rated 4 stars because I made some changes - we boiled the potato wedges for 7 minutes before seasoning them and putting them in the oven for about 15 minutes. This makes for a great texture. It's mashed potatoey goodness inside, with a crispy outside. You cannot ask for anything more...great texture and less bake time with the par-boil technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
463 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Pretty tasty. I used sea salt. I did cook them for a little longer, only because we like them a little crispier. I served these with my Zesty Ranch Dip. No leftovers. Next time, I'll double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
absolutely delish! i must have cut some pretty thick wedges because they took about 50 minutes to be crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, but the proportion of spices and cheese is perfect! strange how such simple ingredients create something so flavorful, but we really enjoyed this! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I just mixed it all up on the cookie sheet - no need to use a plastic bag. Ohhh, make sure to spray the cookie sheet with Pam or something so they don't stick! Great recipe, very good very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
there are really yummy. i also used sweet potatoes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary J
Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Campbellsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
WOW!! These were by far the BEST potato wedges I've made!! I've tried several different recipes and never been thrilled, but this one was fantastic! I used about 8-10 petite red potatoes and cut them up into small thin pieces. I baked them on a foil lined baking sheet for 10 minutes, stirred them around and baked them for another 12. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookink8e
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These are really good. I took them out at 20 min,because they were going to get done before my chicken. I put them back in the oven and finished them off the last 15min with my chicken after I flipped them. Just a little longer than called for, but I wanted some crisp. Great wedges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Loved the technique and the texture of the potatoes, so 3 stars. However, the garlic powder and onion powder ruins the taste for us. Those two ingredients appear in so many commercial products, which is why I believe people don't mind them, or actually develop a taste for them. I was raised a second-generation Italian, and we never even had ersatz ingredients like those in the house. When we wanted garlic or onion flavor, we used garlic or onions. As a consequence, I can't stomach the flavor of artificial stuff. Instead, rubbing the cut potatoes with a cut clove of garlic and a cut onion will give a far superior flavor. That said, it's brilliant to combine the oil, Parmesan, salt, pepper and any other spices you like in a bag and shaking the potatoes is a very neat, no-fuss way to dress them before roasting. We eliminated the garlic and onion powders, replacing them with finely chopped rosemary and basil from the garden. Boo-ya!!! Great flavor that will complement any roasted meat or poultry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I've been making a similar version of these for years. Quick, easy, delicious. A couple of quick extra steps makes them even better. After cutting into wedges, blot excess moisture off with paper towels. This helps to more evenly coat potato wedges with oil and seasoning. Also, stand wedges on the skin side in the pan. You won't have to turn them,and they will cook more evenly. Unless you forget they're in the oven, this recipe is almost impossible to ruin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
We loved these. My husband wanted pan-fried so we did both. To hubbies surprise everyone liked these more. Simple & good. Don't overload the pan & I did flip halfway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

Cheesy, crispy, and delicious, roasted red potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States