Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
this is my go-to vegetarian recipe. I use dehydrated carrots and mushrooms along with fresh onion and garlic. I also cook mine in the crockpot....it always took too long in the oven (longer than called for)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I sauteed finely chopped onion, celery, garlic and carrot in the butter before adding to the rice. Left out the salt, since the broth had enough for us. Ended up taking almost two hours for the rice to absorb the liquid and get tender. Baked this covered and would not try it without covering the pan. Taste was very good and would make again, just allotting more cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I'm the notorious kitchen-queen of ruining brown rice; typically, by having the rest of dinner ready, and the rice is still soupy or crunchy. This recipe saved my ability to now have brown rice on the table (and tasty!) at the same time as the rest of the meal! Alas, the recipe as written, was a 3-star, salty yawn-fest. Sooo for both flavor and some color, I made it again as follows: sauteed in 1 TB butter a minced garlic clove, and about a cups' worth of diced carrot, celery, and onion. Stirred that into the rice (1/2 c.) along w/ 1 1/2 c. beef broth and 1/2 tsp. dried parsley. Baked COVERED at 375 for 1 hr. 15 min. to perfection. Sprinkled the rice w/ a little hot sauce and some green onions, and BLAMMO! Very good indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Great recipe! I used Basmati brown rice, all chicken broth (low-sodium), a little less than 1/4 cup clarified butter, minced garlic, sea salt and threw in a few mushrooms. I cooked it covered since a lot of people did that and it took about 1-1/2 hours. But it was sooo easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Regan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Great Flavour! Used 1 cup of rice, 1 cup each of beef/chicken broth, butter and garlic powder. Baked covered, at 350 for an hour and 15 minutes. Worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodcurious
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
O.M.G.... I love this recipe 2nd time making brown rice (1st time with this recipe) my hubby loved it!! I actually made it tonight just to try it out so that tomorrow I can have some type of knowledge since am having a little dinner party. I will not look around for any other recipe. I will thought, try to tweaking this one a little so I can have a tender drier grain. the only problem I encounter was that after about 30 Min at 350 the water wasn't even boiling so I up temp to 400 and I gave it an extra 30 Min total 1 hr 30 min. I also did 2 cups rice and a 14.5 oz of beef & chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodcurious
Living In: Hialeah, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Loved this! Cooked it COVERED and it turned out good. Also threw in a large can of white meat chicken the second time I made it and it was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Delicious! Like risotto without any stirring! It's even good with some cheese mixed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkoltov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is absolutely fabulous! Only problem is...I can't stop at one serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I do add real garlic and onions because I prefer them. It's a simple side or a great base for a main dish. I've done it as is (with a little less broth), other times I've added grated zuchinni, carrot, and sqaush to it with seasonings of my choice, and I've used the technique with a brown/wild rice blend instead. I've also cooked it up with chicken breasts on top to make a complete one dish meal. Great versatility and great flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States