Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Yes I love this recipe. The only extra things I have added to it are frozen onions and bell peppers. It's delicious and never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Taste was good but after cooking for 1 hr 15mins it still had hard grains. Not really sure why cooking in the oven is considered easier since i made it on the stove a couple days later and it turned out perfect. Then you have a pan with burnt on pieces of rice that you have to clean. Ill stick to doing it on the stove....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Briggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Finally....brown rice I can do. White rice has never been a problem for me, but my brown rice was always mushy outside and crunchy inside. Not anymore! Thank you. Delicious and easy recipe. I leave these ingredients out for my boyfriend to throw in the oven before I get home, so the whole meal is ready together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loco Mo
Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was outstanding! I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. Totally fool proof!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Elder Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trumansburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Just tried this. I only used chicken broth and substituted water for the beef broth because I didn't have it. Used garlic powder instead of salt and 2T of olive oil instead of butter as someone else recommended. It was VERY good! My husband normally hates brown rice, but he said if I made it like this he would eat it all the time. Nice simple recipe, easy to add to if you wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Iborg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I usually don't write reviews but I have to say that the rice tasted great. This is my first time cooking brown rice in the oven. I made a few changes after reading several reviews. I used the following: 1 cup rice(rinsed), 1 cup low-sodium chicken broth, 1 pkg Lipton onion soup mix(combine with 2 cups hot water before adding), 3/4 tsp garlic powder, 2 tsp unsalted butter. Stir ingredients well in the casserole dish, cover, and cook for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penney Sneed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This tasted fantastic; however, I had to add more and more broth & butter. Next time I will double the broth & butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
At 60 minutes the rice was still drowning in about a cup of too much liquid. Either it needed covered (which I thought I should do at first, but chose to follow directions instead)or it needed another 1/2 hour in the oven. But I had timed it to be ready with the rest of dinner so I ended up nuking it for about 13 minutes on high to finish the job. If I do this again, I will cover it and omit the beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is based on my changes. After reading reviews I used low sodium beef broth, only 2 tbs butter (did not melt just threw it in the dish), 1/2 tsp seasoning salt, 1/2 tsp garlic salt 1/2 tsp garlic powder. And this did take 90 mins to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Pretty good. You have to add your own seasonings according to taste. My rice came out fluffy & not dry at all, accurately cooked covered at 350 for 1 hour (appeared to be done in 50 minutes, but I let it cook an additional 6-10 min per required) Was concerned about rice being crunchy, but was not at all. Did not use any beef broth & increased the chicken broth by just a smidge. Used low sodium broth and didn't use any of the salts, but did use a little natural minced garlic in the jar. The butter that was used was unsalted, seasoned with black pepper, just a tad of Lipton onion soup mix and sprinkled with a seasoning called Spike. Served with baked cornish game hens stuffed with veggies. A definite must have!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States