Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
VERY good, for sure a keeper. I added some diced carrots and frozen broc florrets (they turned out a little mushy, but oh well).. I took the advice of another review and used two cups of instant brown rice (I didn't have reg) and it worked out just fine. Also used garlic powder instead of garlic salt.. and used 1/2 the seasoning salt.. and covered with foil during baking. Next time I might add a splash of worcestershire sauce.. but over all, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Rice turned out just right. Took an extra 10 minutes for me, covered with foil. I made it a main dish by adding a cup of broccoli, one chicken breast and some cheese. Next time I will leave out the butter if adding cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Made this for Sunday dinner - put it all together and set the oven on time bake. Cooked it covered, when we got home there was still some liquid in the rice, so uncovered it and cooked it about 15 minutes longer. Turned out perfect. Great way to have the healthiness of brown rice without having to wait 45 minutes while it cooks on stovetop. I doubled the recipe, and used all chicken broth rather than a combo of beef and chicken. Used garlic pwder rather than salt. Was liked by all at my table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I'm a big rice lover and found this recipe so easy and delicious. I added two cloves of garlic chopped and only used chicken broth. Great dish for when you have guests because you can put it in the oven and forget about it. It was in the oven for almost and hour and a half and I stirred it a couploe of times. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkane47

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
very good! we covered it until the last 15 min. Added some chopped carrots, and substituted the water for beef broth and used half brown and half white rice. Great as leftovers also---a bit of teriyaki sauce is a good add-on, too! will keep using this recipe, the best I have found for moist rice, without stickiness or overcooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I love this rice. I added a little extra water, doubled the cooking time. Instead of using canned broth I used Tones chicken and beef soup base (the kind you can get at Sam's). I make my rice in large quanties and then freeze it in baggies with 2 or 3 cup baggies. This batch I used for an amazing chicken fried rice. This was the best batch ever. It had great texture and didn't get mushy in the wok. I will be roasting all my rice from now on. Great recipe thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Heidi Shirk
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was easy and delicious, much better thatn your average stove top rice. I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown because it's what I had on hand. I used water instead of beef broth, and cut down on the butter and seasoning salt. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Shirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I love this rice! It's foolproof, and it also reheats well. The flavor is perfect, and it's always moist. The only changed I make include covering the rice while it bakes, and also I use all chicken broth, and reconstitute it from a chicken base. I use about 3 cups of water and 2 1/2 tsp of the base (instead of 3). This cuts down on the saltiness some reviewers complain of. My toddler practically shoves his face in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was the best brown rice I've ever made! I made some changes, though... instead of beef broth I just added water. I also omitted the butter. I added diced onions and carrots, and may try adding healthy ingredients next time. I just steamed it in a rice cooker instead of baking it in the oven. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Totoro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
OMG! I am WORLD FAMOUS for ruining rice. I've ruined more pots than most people own, burning rice to the bottom for ETERNITY. But thanks to this recipe, I MADE RICE!!! I even just called my mom to tell her! I didn't have any stock but I was determined so I put a few glugs of soy sauce and a few glugs of woostery sauce in a measure and filled the rest of the way up with the appropriate amount of water. Added butter, season salt, garlic and regular salt. Threw a few onion flakes in for grins too. Perfect texture, perfect flavor PERFECT PERFECT PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States