Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This is a great brown rice recipe. I used broth as written in recipe (I usually have chicken and beef base on hand at all times). I used some garlic powder and no salt. I just used about a tablespoon of butter to cut that back a bit. I used an extra 1/4 c. rice to make sure it was enough for 5, but only increased the chicken broth by 1 1/2 oz. and it turned out perfect in one hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOVian Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This was very yummy!! I made some changes, I did use the brown rice, butter, garlic and seasoned salt but I also used water in place of the beef broth and low sodium chicken broth to try to make this a touch healthier. It had to cook for more than an hour - about an hour and 15 minutes. I also added some chopped vidalia onion and chopped carrots and that made it delicious!! And just to get creative - we added some plump raisins (after having boiled them to get juicy) and my husband seemed to like that - though I prefer without! So good though and very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Definitely easy, but nothing overly special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Very easy to do. Make sure you bake it 1hour and 30 minutes and stir at least couple times, otherwise the top rice will be hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I followed this pretty closely and have made it about 15 times. I use fresh garlic and fresh tarragon with one shredded carrot and one diced celery stalk. I only use one half tsp. salt We were strictly white rice eaters before I tried this recipe and my kids always ask for this now. I had to up the cooking time to 80 minutes at 375 degrees (convection). Totally worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Awesome. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I had to double the liquid. Still great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Excellent flavor and so easy. Have made this several times and the whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Great basic brown rice recipe. The seasoning leaves it so it can be eaten on its own. Great basic no frills brown rice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
VERY good, for sure a keeper. I added some diced carrots and frozen broc florrets (they turned out a little mushy, but oh well).. I took the advice of another review and used two cups of instant brown rice (I didn't have reg) and it worked out just fine. Also used garlic powder instead of garlic salt.. and used 1/2 the seasoning salt.. and covered with foil during baking. Next time I might add a splash of worcestershire sauce.. but over all, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Rice turned out just right. Took an extra 10 minutes for me, covered with foil. I made it a main dish by adding a cup of broccoli, one chicken breast and some cheese. Next time I will leave out the butter if adding cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States