Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
this is surprising delish for a brown rice dish. I am not a brown rice fan at all, but recently i have been trying to incorporate it into my meals. this is by far the best recipe that i have tried by far. I followed the recipe except I halved the butter, finely chopped some celery, onions, omitted the garlic salt and used fresh garlic and green and red peppers. my only complaint is that it takes longer than an hour fifteen its more like 2 hours. this is def a keeper. thanks for getting me to eat brown rice, i feel healthier already, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This recipe was great! All 5 kids said this was their favorite rice. After reading the other reviews, I did use garlic powder instead of garlic salt, EVOO instead of butter and omitted the season salt. Love that I can make it in the oven! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I don't know. This was okay, nothing special. I can do the same thing on the stovetop in alot less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
So easy, and good texture to the rice. Want to experiment with variations and addings differnet ingredients in with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
this is my go-to vegetarian recipe. I use dehydrated carrots and mushrooms along with fresh onion and garlic. I also cook mine in the crockpot....it always took too long in the oven (longer than called for)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I sauteed finely chopped onion, celery, garlic and carrot in the butter before adding to the rice. Left out the salt, since the broth had enough for us. Ended up taking almost two hours for the rice to absorb the liquid and get tender. Baked this covered and would not try it without covering the pan. Taste was very good and would make again, just allotting more cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I'm the notorious kitchen-queen of ruining brown rice; typically, by having the rest of dinner ready, and the rice is still soupy or crunchy. This recipe saved my ability to now have brown rice on the table (and tasty!) at the same time as the rest of the meal! Alas, the recipe as written, was a 3-star, salty yawn-fest. Sooo for both flavor and some color, I made it again as follows: sauteed in 1 TB butter a minced garlic clove, and about a cups' worth of diced carrot, celery, and onion. Stirred that into the rice (1/2 c.) along w/ 1 1/2 c. beef broth and 1/2 tsp. dried parsley. Baked COVERED at 375 for 1 hr. 15 min. to perfection. Sprinkled the rice w/ a little hot sauce and some green onions, and BLAMMO! Very good indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Great recipe! I used Basmati brown rice, all chicken broth (low-sodium), a little less than 1/4 cup clarified butter, minced garlic, sea salt and threw in a few mushrooms. I cooked it covered since a lot of people did that and it took about 1-1/2 hours. But it was sooo easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIEGRETL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Great Flavour! Used 1 cup of rice, 1 cup each of beef/chicken broth, butter and garlic powder. Baked covered, at 350 for an hour and 15 minutes. Worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodcurious
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
O.M.G.... I love this recipe 2nd time making brown rice (1st time with this recipe) my hubby loved it!! I actually made it tonight just to try it out so that tomorrow I can have some type of knowledge since am having a little dinner party. I will not look around for any other recipe. I will thought, try to tweaking this one a little so I can have a tender drier grain. the only problem I encounter was that after about 30 Min at 350 the water wasn't even boiling so I up temp to 400 and I gave it an extra 30 Min total 1 hr 30 min. I also did 2 cups rice and a 14.5 oz of beef & chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodcurious
Living In: Hialeah, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States