Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Pretty good. The time is a bit off for my oven; I had to bake an extra half hour, and the rice was a bit too soft for my liking when it was all said and done. however, easy cooking method and not very time consuming (I don't mind long bake times--means I can do something else in the meantime!), so worth playing around with. Flavorful, too. Bf scarfed it down, and he's not the biggest fan of brown rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I had gotten away from cooking rice when it was just my husband and I , but added it back to the menu after having kids. I try to use the healthier, brown rice and this was a really good way to cook it. Turned out better than instruction on bag. I added carrots and peas to get veggies in and everyone liked it that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My whole family very much enjoyed this rice. I used some fresh garlic, and no seasoned salt. Very good & so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
i loved this recipe, really flavorful & makes brown rice more tolerable if it's not your thing:) definitely need to cover this rice dish when baking or it will not be anywhere close to done in 60 mins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deetergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
this is surprising delish for a brown rice dish. I am not a brown rice fan at all, but recently i have been trying to incorporate it into my meals. this is by far the best recipe that i have tried by far. I followed the recipe except I halved the butter, finely chopped some celery, onions, omitted the garlic salt and used fresh garlic and green and red peppers. my only complaint is that it takes longer than an hour fifteen its more like 2 hours. this is def a keeper. thanks for getting me to eat brown rice, i feel healthier already, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This recipe was great! All 5 kids said this was their favorite rice. After reading the other reviews, I did use garlic powder instead of garlic salt, EVOO instead of butter and omitted the season salt. Love that I can make it in the oven! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I don't know. This was okay, nothing special. I can do the same thing on the stovetop in alot less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
So easy, and good texture to the rice. Want to experiment with variations and addings differnet ingredients in with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
this is my go-to vegetarian recipe. I use dehydrated carrots and mushrooms along with fresh onion and garlic. I also cook mine in the crockpot....it always took too long in the oven (longer than called for)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I sauteed finely chopped onion, celery, garlic and carrot in the butter before adding to the rice. Left out the salt, since the broth had enough for us. Ended up taking almost two hours for the rice to absorb the liquid and get tender. Baked this covered and would not try it without covering the pan. Taste was very good and would make again, just allotting more cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States