Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I used a box of Near East Whole Grain Blends, Roasted Pecan and Garlic and combined it with this recipe. I used 1 cup beef broth and 1 cup of chicken broth, omitted the seasoning listed in the recipe and replaced it with the seasoning packet from the box then added the melted butter and baked it. It was fantastic!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Great recipe, I did lower the overall sodium content however, darn dietary restrictions...by using low sodium broths, unsalted butter and garlic powder instead of garlic salt as other reviewers had done. Served it alongside Broiled Scallops and Sugar Snap Peas. This was a wonderful way to dress up brown rice, thanks Kaylee for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
We make this all the time, but instead of cooking it in the oven, we just cook it in our rice cooker on the brown rice setting. Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tademas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I LOVE white rice but I've been trying to eat healthier. I'm not a fan of brown rice but I tried this and loved it! I used 2 1/2 cups chicken broth and 1/2 cup of water. I also used several cloves of fresh minced garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This may be a great recipe, but after increasing the temperature and cooking this for 90 minutes the rice still wasn't done. I did taste the (hard) rice and the flavor was good, but I almost broke a tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This is a 6 star recipe! I make it with bouillion cubes when I'm out of broth, and it's still wonderful. All 4 kids and my husband are always asking me to make it again! However, I only use 1 cup beef broth and 1 cup chicken broth, with garlic powder instead of salt. I also cook it covered. It makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Not my favorite. The rice was too wet for my taste. I thought it was going to be drier, more like a pilaf. Instead it was a mushy, sticky mess. Flavor was okay, but a bit bland, even though I sauteed 2 cloves of garlic and 1 onion and added them to the mixture before putting in the oven. I also covered the rice like other reviewers said, but maybe I will try again cooking it uncovered like the recipe states. Also, after an hour covered in the oven, the rice was only about 3/4 of the way cooked. I uncovered it and continued cooking for another 20 minutes or so to finish cooking the rice and to try to evaporate the extra liquid. If I try it again and follow the original recipe more closely, I will update my review and rating accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Pretty good. The time is a bit off for my oven; I had to bake an extra half hour, and the rice was a bit too soft for my liking when it was all said and done. however, easy cooking method and not very time consuming (I don't mind long bake times--means I can do something else in the meantime!), so worth playing around with. Flavorful, too. Bf scarfed it down, and he's not the biggest fan of brown rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I had gotten away from cooking rice when it was just my husband and I , but added it back to the menu after having kids. I try to use the healthier, brown rice and this was a really good way to cook it. Turned out better than instruction on bag. I added carrots and peas to get veggies in and everyone liked it that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My whole family very much enjoyed this rice. I used some fresh garlic, and no seasoned salt. Very good & so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States