Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Yum!! The only thing I could add is to stir around the edges halfway through because when mine was done and I stirred it and poured in bowl there were a lot of crunchy ones that got mixed in. I added 1 Tbsp. of minced fresh garlic too. But I will definately be making this for years to come. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
We are trying to eat more brown rice so I tried this recipe. It was very good but next time I will use a little less butter. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I will never make brown rice any other way, ever again! It came out so creamy!! I used only 2 cups of fat free, low sodium chicken broth, garlic powder (instead of garlic salt), and used olive oil instead of butter. I also added 2 of the small cans of mushrooms. My husband cleaned his plate! I baked it covered in my Corningware for an hour....and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was okay. Way too salty and I even used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. Next time I would use unsalted butter and no seasoning salt. Needed an additional 15 min. to cook. This needs some mushrooms, onions or carrots added. I would make again but with many changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe. I have made it twice. the first time, I used all homemade chicken stock and the second time, I used low-sodium chicken broth and then some of the drippings from a pork roast I had made earlier in the week. Both times it was absolutely delicious! It needs to be cooked at a higher temperature - the first time I think I did 375 and it was cooked more evenly than the second time (started at 350 and then remembered to turn it up to 365). Other than that, I think the only change I make is to add three cloves of fresh, minced garlic to the pan before baking. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe. I altered it following some of the recommendations here. I added garlic powder instead of garlic salt, and added some onions. Next time I would cut the butter in half as I thought it was too buttery, and I would try it with some of the other recommendations such as with mushrooms, a can of Rotelle, or maybe some brocolli or peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I use Brown Basmati rice, but most of the recipes I use are bland. My family isn't too fond of rice (probably because the dishes typically taste so bad). I used 2 cups of organic chicken broth, onion flakes, garlic salt, seasoned salt and butter. It was great! Fluffy, nicely cooked and the taste was fabulous. Even my non-rice eaters gave it rave reviews. Barely a small serving left over. I did cook it with my casserole lid on throughout the hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I had never fixed rice in the oven before. I really like it. Will fix again. Followed the recipe as is and added just a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
For the record, this makes six 1/2 c servings. I took other's suggestions and used low sodium broths, unless I used bouillon cubes. I also used garlic powder instead of garlic salt and only used 1/2 teaspoon of seasoned salt. I turned up the oven to 375 and cooked for 75 minutes. You can also switch the beef and chicken broth amounts if you have more of one than the other. Good healthy and hearty recipe, even if you don't like brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I really liked this rice! I used brown jasmine rice that I was lucky enough to find at the 99 cent store. Because several reviewers said it was too salty, I substituted 1 cup chicken broth and about 3/4 cup of water instead of all chicken broth and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. The result was perfectly cooked, flavorful rice that my children and I really enjoyed. I'll definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States