Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
After 1.5 hours in the oven, this was still crunchy! I then added over 2 more cups of broth and microwaved it for over 20 more minutes before it was edible. Once cooked, it was very good, but everyone was done with dinner before it was even close to being ready. I used organic brown jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This rice was fantastic. We eat a lot of brown rice in my family and I've been looking for different ways to prepare it and make it more flavorful. I did make some changes to this recipe to kick up the flavor and make it healthier. I sauteed chopped onion and chopped fresh mushrooms in a small pat of butter and a little EVOO until tender and then added that to the mix of ingredients. I also added a couple of cloves of minced garlic and omitted most of the butter and all of the salt. Let me tell you how unbelievable the house smelled!! This recipe was very very good! It isn't very quick but it is a good recipe in the winter when you're already roasting or baking dinner in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlborough, Connecticut, USA
Living In: East Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I have never been able to get brown rice to come out right. It never seems to get tender for me, but this recipe worked! I followed it pretty closely, only I used fresh minced garlic, cut down the butter to 2 tablespoons and just a sprinkle of seasoned salt. I baked it covered in a glass Corningware casserole dish at 375 and after one hour, it was done! And done perfectly. Thank you so much KAYLEEW. I can finally cook brown rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was great! I have been having problems cooking brown rice so I tried it this way and it was perfect. Thank you for this great recipe that I will use every time I want brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I own a rice cooker and have never cooked rice any other way. However, I was cooking Salmon with Pineapple Tomato Salsa and the oven was going to be anyway (highly recommend the salmon!). It took more than an hour (about 1.5) to fully cook however, but it was worth it. Light and fluffy! I also covered it with foil because I read reviews and didn't want crunchy rice. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Never really cared for brown rice before. I added the trinity: carrots, onions, and celery. I also covered it. It was so creamy and tasty. I will always bake it in the oven. Thanks for the great healthy recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was wonderful. I did make changes based on others recommendations. I doubled the recipe. (I will cut up some chicken and veggies in the leftovers for another meal)I used 4 cups chicken broth as I did not have beef broth and added 1 cup of water. I used 2 T of butter, 1/4 tsp of seasoned salt and 2 tsp of garlic powder. I baked covered in the oven at 375 degrees for 90 minutes. I did stir twice during coooking. My kids ate it and they normally wrinkle their noses at brown rice! Yeah! This will be a regular recipe. Thanks so much Kayleew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I added some sauteed veggies to this dish and it was really delicious, however it took longer to cook than the recipe called for. Mine came out rather soupy. It was excellent the next day though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I have always hated brown rice until now. Delicious and moist. However I did have to cook it for 90 minutes also but it is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
O how I LOVE the helpful reviews on this site. I added almost 1/2 cup more rice to the recipe so that all the liquid would absorb. (Worked out great for leftovers!) It still took over an hour to finish cooking. I kept the dish covered for the first hour then uncovered for 15-20 until the last of the liquid was absorbed. Even with that short time being uncovered it got a little crunchy on top. I used 3/4 tsp garlic powder instead of 1 tsp garlic salt. I knew before I started that I would add steamed peas before serving but at the last second I noticed a handful of roasted peanuts and peanut dust in the bottom of a jar so I added those, too. The kids really liked this except one commented that it was "too buttery" so I'll cut back on that next time. I served it with a whole baked chicken. After dinner I pulled all the meat off the carcass, shredded it, added it to the leftover rice, froze the whole thing and now the sitter will be able to give the kids a home-made meal next week. Yippee!! all the way around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States