Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
We love this! I'm not sure what those who needed to cover did wrong but this is perfect just as it is. I don't add additional salt, just some garlic powder and some green onion if we have it. I think it would certainly be salty if I added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I wish I could give this 4 1/2 stars, because its almost just right with all the help of other reviewers. I used: 1 1/4 cups of brown rice, 2 3/4 cups of chicken broth, 2 T. EVOO, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and a sprinkle of Lawry's Seasoning Salt. I also sauteed up half an onion. I ended up baking this covered for 90 minutes at 375 and stirred a couple of times. This might sound weird, but to me it tasted like a really good, less salty "real" Rice-A-Roni type dish. Served with Baked Teriyaki Chicken from this site and broccoli. The only change I will make next time is to use a reduced-sodium broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
this is the only way I will make brown rice. If you want to cut fat you don't really need the butter.I do cover with foil before putting lid on and cook for 60 minutes let rest for 10 minutes before removing foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My family love this, including my nephew who is the pickiest of eaters. I use half wild rice, half brown and I toast slivered almonds and throw them in along with fresh mushrooms and frozen peas. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The last time I made brown rice was several years back due to the experience of eating what felt like small pebbles...This was abolutely the BEST brown rice i've ever had. It was definitely buttery, but DELICIOUS. Will plan for a weekly addition to replace white rice. (Note to self: cook 1.5 hrs and covered)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newlywedchef08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Loved this recipe. Used 1/2 the butter with 1/2 evoo, garlic powder, no salt. I thought it was plenty salty and was concerned that dh would think it TOO salty, but he ate more than his share, and even had seconds! Thanks, KAYLEEW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I haven't made this dish in years, I Always used long grain Rice, garlic powder, beef or chicken boullion and a large onion, no seasoning salt.. Will make this dish again Soon....Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadia
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I used all chicken broth because I didn't have beef, and definiltey go with low-sodium (I didn't have any once and it was very salty). I have gotten many compliments when I have made this recipe. Yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I loved this. I normally HATE brown rice, but I decided to give this a try. Used brown jasmine rice from trader joe's, olive oil instead of butter, sea salt in place of seasoned salt, low sodium broths, and garlic powder instead of garlic salt. Cooked covered for 1 hr 10 minutes. Served with steamed salmon. Beyond delicious - I'll never cook white rice again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This took too long to cook! I read other reviews and thought I might be better off to cover the rice. I cooked at 375 for one hour and it was like soup still! I ended up cooking it for an addtional 20 minuites in the microwave! It was too salty as other have said. Perhaps leaving the lid off would have helped, but I wont be trying to find out. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States