Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Use this all the time and vary it by adding sauted mushrooms and onions. I do always cook it covered, and it does seem to take more than an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
used all chicken broth as its all I had. no need to use the butter. added mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Sorry, but we son't be making this again. I made it as it said to and it didn't get done enough and it was too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This recipe was BBBBBBoring! We tried it using other reviewer's suggestions to use low sodium broth and reduced the amount of salt. It tasted no different then when I make instant brown rice with chicken broth and took a lot longer to get on the table. Other than the non-instant brown rice being less expensive, I don't see any advantage to using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Travis Jamie Lopez Whitaker
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
If you are using instant brown rice put 2 cups instead of one! I also added about 1/8 c of vegetable oil in the rice to keep it from sticking to the pan. I also covered the pan with tin foil. It was a little tough with out the tin foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Was quite good. Nice, easy, versatile and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
this was fantastic! i prepared brown rice once before on the stovetop and was disappointed. this was much better. i served it with easy baked tilapia from this site so i added a little old bay instead of seasoned salt to compliment. keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Nice, consistant way to cook brown rice. I used slightly less liquid than called for and covered the dish with foil per other recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
It's a really easy way to cook brown rice, but it should be covered, not uncovered. If you cover the rice it will turn out really soft and fluffy, just the right texture as coming out from rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
We love this! I'm not sure what those who needed to cover did wrong but this is perfect just as it is. I don't add additional salt, just some garlic powder and some green onion if we have it. I think it would certainly be salty if I added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States