Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
OMG! I am WORLD FAMOUS for ruining rice. I've ruined more pots than most people own, burning rice to the bottom for ETERNITY. But thanks to this recipe, I MADE RICE!!! I even just called my mom to tell her! I didn't have any stock but I was determined so I put a few glugs of soy sauce and a few glugs of woostery sauce in a measure and filled the rest of the way up with the appropriate amount of water. Added butter, season salt, garlic and regular salt. Threw a few onion flakes in for grins too. Perfect texture, perfect flavor PERFECT PERFECT PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Never thought to put brown rice in the oven. I used my microwave/oven and my covered baker from Pampered Chef - the best brown rice has ever turned out! Also love the combination of flavors, again, wouldn't have thought of it on my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Use this all the time and vary it by adding sauted mushrooms and onions. I do always cook it covered, and it does seem to take more than an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
used all chicken broth as its all I had. no need to use the butter. added mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Sorry, but we son't be making this again. I made it as it said to and it didn't get done enough and it was too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This recipe was BBBBBBoring! We tried it using other reviewer's suggestions to use low sodium broth and reduced the amount of salt. It tasted no different then when I make instant brown rice with chicken broth and took a lot longer to get on the table. Other than the non-instant brown rice being less expensive, I don't see any advantage to using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Travis Jamie Lopez Whitaker
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
If you are using instant brown rice put 2 cups instead of one! I also added about 1/8 c of vegetable oil in the rice to keep it from sticking to the pan. I also covered the pan with tin foil. It was a little tough with out the tin foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Was quite good. Nice, easy, versatile and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
this was fantastic! i prepared brown rice once before on the stovetop and was disappointed. this was much better. i served it with easy baked tilapia from this site so i added a little old bay instead of seasoned salt to compliment. keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Nice, consistant way to cook brown rice. I used slightly less liquid than called for and covered the dish with foil per other recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States