Oven Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Our family isn't big fans of stew, but we thought this was great. Actually i used the ideas from the others, as far as the lipton onion soup mix and water, however i thought it was a little too salty. next time i'll use minced onions and my own seasonings. i also added a nice scoop of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This was a very easy recipe to follow however, it was very bland. I had to add some soy sauce and worchestershire sauce to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
My family LOVED LOVED LOVED this recipe! My husband was so pleased and proud that I made homemade beef stew. When I told him we were having beef stew for dinner he thought we were having a 'canned dinner' night. He was pleasantly surprised! Recipe was simple and easy to prepare a must for a working mom with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I had 2 lbs of stew meat so I doubled the recipe. I omitted the French onion soup and used 1 pkg of dry onion soup mix, along with 1 can of beef broth like the other reviewers suggested. I also only used 1 cup of water. It turned out better than I expected. The meat was tender, and I liked the fact that I didn't have to brown it first. The only thing I would say is that it does need some extra seasoning, maybe next time I will tweak it and add some extra spices to it. Overall good recipe, nice and quick prep, took the whole 5 hours to cook. Update: I make this all the time. I have a large family so I still double the recipe. I don't use the french onion soup at all. I use 2 cans mushroom soup, 1 pkg onion soup mix, and 1 cup low sodium beef broth, no additional water - I think that is what makes it bland. Extra seasonings I add are pepper, Maggi, and Worcestershire sauce. I also add an onion (but we really like onions!). Turns out tasty for me every time. I sometimes cook this on 300 for 4 hours to save time, although it is better to cook it as the original recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I've tried many beef stew recipes, all of which have disappointed my husband, except for this one which we both loved. I followed the suggestions of some other reviewers and added 1 10.75 oz can beef broth, 1 cup water, 1 package dry onion soup mix, instead of the water and french onion soup that is called for. I also put this in a crock pot on high for 4 hours. I doubled all of the vegetables, and added almost a full 10.75 oz can of corn (did I mention that we really love our veggies!). At the end, it was still soupy, so I thickened it up with 2 Tablespoons of corn starch which made it perfect. With the changes that were made, I give this a full 4 stars for taste and ease of preparation -it is the simplest dish you could make. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This was a very small serving and I found it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
I gave this four stars because of the ease of preparation! Pretty darn easy for a decent meal. I did find the taste a little bland however; I'll have to alter SOMETHING next time to improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tripoli, North, Lebanon
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
My family enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This beef stew turned out to be the BEST tonight! Pure comfort food! I did, however, toss this all in the crockpot on high for 4 hours. The meat was sooooo tender! I added a can of stewed tomatoes and a packet of dry brown gravy mix. I also added an extra cup of water. I will be making this again, for certain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Sooo easy and sooo good. Just like old fashioned stew. I just thickend it up slightly. Very comforting :) Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENSIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States