Oven Barbecued Beef Brisket II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
Nummy! And so very, very easy! Like another lady who posted a review, I also used a blend of ketchup and BBQ sauce in the absence of chili sauce. And it turned out great. The nicest part is that I did it in the crock pot...put everything in at lunch time, and it was ready for dinner. If you want to try it in the crock pot, I put it in for four hours at High, then did one more hour with the lid off , stirring every once in a while, so the sauce would thicken up. Crock pot is definitely the way to go. I also slided the bricket very thin, adn returned it to the sauce for a few minutes. Then piled it onto fresh kaiser buns. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
I used 1'2 c. chili sauce, 1/2 c. BBQ sauce and 1/2 c. ketchup becuse that's what I had on hand. Absolutely deliciojus. Sent recipe to daughter in e-mail and she loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I saw this recipe demonstrated on Gary Collin's old TV show (I think it was called "Home') around 11 or 12 years ago. I've been making it ever since. It's an easy way to impress your dinner guests. Everyone loves it. Maybe everyone knows this, but the chili sauce is the kind that is next to the ketchup in the supermarket, not salsa or taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
We were a little leary about using the coca-cola but it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
Simple, inexpensive, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
This recipe was delicious! My husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed it. I didn't have chile sauce so I used enchilada sauce instead and I cooked it in a crock pot. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was soooo easy and a huge hit! I prepared the brisket with a dry rub of garlic salt, pepper, and paprika. Then I used Gates BBQ sauce instead of chili sauce, a can of C2 (the lower-carb coke), and the soup mix. I put it all in the crockpot about noon on low and left for the day. When we came home around six, it was done and the house smelled great! We used the left-overs the next day for sandwiches. I am a real novice when it comes to cooking so I was impressed at how easy it was to make a restaurant-quality brisket. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This is an easy and great tasting recipe. It's great to make when you have friends coming over. If there is any left, it tastes even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This is an incredibly easy and delicious recipe. I used my slow cooker and baked it at 300 for 4-5 hours. (Just watch it well because the carmel in the Pepsi will burn if it's left too high without ample liquid.) I added an extra half can of Pepsi at the last hour to make a bit more liquid to cook 2 briskets at once. My father who eats nothing "new" had seconds on this one! Mom is jealous cause he never tries "new" stuff at home, but will eat it at our house :) I thought the Pepsi would scare him away but he cleaned the plate and he is a PICKY eater!! Kids loved it too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
The only ingredient I had from this recipe was the cola. I replaced the chile sauce with salsa, and the onion soup with a Perfect Potatoes seasonings packet. Plus, the brisket sat in marinade for 1 1/2 days prior to cooking. It was GREAT! I cooked two briskets (in a crock pot) with the intention of freezing one for later. I didn't waste my time. We finished it in three days. Finger-lickin' good---literally. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States