Oven Barbecued Beef Brisket II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was soooo easy and a huge hit! I prepared the brisket with a dry rub of garlic salt, pepper, and paprika. Then I used Gates BBQ sauce instead of chili sauce, a can of C2 (the lower-carb coke), and the soup mix. I put it all in the crockpot about noon on low and left for the day. When we came home around six, it was done and the house smelled great! We used the left-overs the next day for sandwiches. I am a real novice when it comes to cooking so I was impressed at how easy it was to make a restaurant-quality brisket. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
We were a little leary about using the coca-cola but it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This was good barbecue. I made mine in the crockpot and cooked it on low for about 8 hours. The sauce was really good and very sweet. I will definitely make it again because it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This is a great recipe. As with everyone, I played with the ingredients though. The night before I rubbed the meat down with salt, pepper and paprika and then put chopped onions and garlic under and over it. I increased all ingredients so that I was sure to have plenty of sauce. I opted for a combo of chili sauce, ketchup and a bit of barbecue sauce. I also used Goodmans soup mix which isn't heavy on the dehydrated onions. It was absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This was a little too sweet and saucy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Brisket was very tender. I added BBQ Sauce when it was done cooking. Great sliced on a hard roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I saw this recipe demonstrated on Gary Collin's old TV show (I think it was called "Home') around 11 or 12 years ago. I've been making it ever since. It's an easy way to impress your dinner guests. Everyone loves it. Maybe everyone knows this, but the chili sauce is the kind that is next to the ketchup in the supermarket, not salsa or taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
This recipe was delicious! My husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed it. I didn't have chile sauce so I used enchilada sauce instead and I cooked it in a crock pot. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
Simple, inexpensive, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
Nummy! And so very, very easy! Like another lady who posted a review, I also used a blend of ketchup and BBQ sauce in the absence of chili sauce. And it turned out great. The nicest part is that I did it in the crock pot...put everything in at lunch time, and it was ready for dinner. If you want to try it in the crock pot, I put it in for four hours at High, then did one more hour with the lid off , stirring every once in a while, so the sauce would thicken up. Crock pot is definitely the way to go. I also slided the bricket very thin, adn returned it to the sauce for a few minutes. Then piled it onto fresh kaiser buns. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States