Oven Barbecued Beef Brisket II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
Nummy! And so very, very easy! Like another lady who posted a review, I also used a blend of ketchup and BBQ sauce in the absence of chili sauce. And it turned out great. The nicest part is that I did it in the crock pot...put everything in at lunch time, and it was ready for dinner. If you want to try it in the crock pot, I put it in for four hours at High, then did one more hour with the lid off , stirring every once in a while, so the sauce would thicken up. Crock pot is definitely the way to go. I also slided the bricket very thin, adn returned it to the sauce for a few minutes. Then piled it onto fresh kaiser buns. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This is a great recipe. As with everyone, I played with the ingredients though. The night before I rubbed the meat down with salt, pepper and paprika and then put chopped onions and garlic under and over it. I increased all ingredients so that I was sure to have plenty of sauce. I opted for a combo of chili sauce, ketchup and a bit of barbecue sauce. I also used Goodmans soup mix which isn't heavy on the dehydrated onions. It was absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
This was good and very easy. I would make this again, but I do have a better brisket recipe (it takes a lot time and effort). The brisket was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I saw this recipe demonstrated on Gary Collin's old TV show (I think it was called "Home') around 11 or 12 years ago. I've been making it ever since. It's an easy way to impress your dinner guests. Everyone loves it. Maybe everyone knows this, but the chili sauce is the kind that is next to the ketchup in the supermarket, not salsa or taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This is an incredibly easy and delicious recipe. I used my slow cooker and baked it at 300 for 4-5 hours. (Just watch it well because the carmel in the Pepsi will burn if it's left too high without ample liquid.) I added an extra half can of Pepsi at the last hour to make a bit more liquid to cook 2 briskets at once. My father who eats nothing "new" had seconds on this one! Mom is jealous cause he never tries "new" stuff at home, but will eat it at our house :) I thought the Pepsi would scare him away but he cleaned the plate and he is a PICKY eater!! Kids loved it too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was soooo easy and a huge hit! I prepared the brisket with a dry rub of garlic salt, pepper, and paprika. Then I used Gates BBQ sauce instead of chili sauce, a can of C2 (the lower-carb coke), and the soup mix. I put it all in the crockpot about noon on low and left for the day. When we came home around six, it was done and the house smelled great! We used the left-overs the next day for sandwiches. I am a real novice when it comes to cooking so I was impressed at how easy it was to make a restaurant-quality brisket. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I love this recipe. It is so easy and feeds a crowd. I have made it 3 times now, always in the crock pot, and it comes out so tender and flavorful. I serve it with mashed potatoes/w butter and a veggie. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I trimmed the fat off my 2.5 lb brisket and made the recipe as written. It was awesome. I served it with salad, roasted new potatoes and brussels sprouts. My husband wants me to throw away my other brisket recipes and serve this often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Point, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
this was amazing... so easy to prepare and came out perfectly. I cooked in a slow cooker... 4 hours on high with lid on, one hour high with lid off. thickened sauce a little bit with a touch of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I read all of the reviews and decided to try it. My family and I love it. I make it in the crock pot and it turns out great. With the leftovers the next day I shred it and make BBQ sandwiches. It is easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States