Oven Barbecued Beef Brisket II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Delicious and simple! I seasoned my brisket with garlic salt, pepper and paprika. I only has about 8 oz of chili sauce so I filled in the rest with bbq sauce. Worked beautifully! It cooked on low for about 8 hours and was tender and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
The kids like this one. I'm still on the fence with it though. I didn't hate it but I think it was just a little too sweey for me. But it was simple so I do thank you for the recipe. Plus no kids were unhappy. So, untimately I was happy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was great. I am really not good with cooking meat in the crockpot, I have trouble with them getting dried out and burned, never tender adn that is with half the cooking time but I was able to get this to turn out great and it tasted great too. All I had was diet vanilla coke and I just didn't think that was going to work so I used a can of beef consomme instead. I ran out of chile sauce and added ketchup to make the difference. Thanks, this was great and I made a roast in my crockpot that didn't taste burnt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I've made a variation of this recipe for years and it's a family favorite. Instead of cola, my version calls for a bottle of beer. Add that to the chili sauce, onion soup mixture and pour it over the brisket after the brisket has cooked for 45 minutes on each side. Once the sauce has been added cook for another 90 minutes. The beef is tender and the sauce is tangy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was delicious and so easy. But I think it needs to cook longer to be falling-apart good. I even turned up the temp the last hour, and used the convection cooking mode, but it still was quite "together".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
How can something so simple be SO good! I've never made brisket before because I was always a little intimidated to do so, but when I came across this recipe and read the reviews, I thought "what could go wrong?" And nothing did! I made the recipe as it was written and my family loved it, it was so tender and moist and the sauce it made was very tasty. I added a little cornstarch to thicking it up.Other than that I thought the recipe was wonderful...meat good, sauce good...what's not to like! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
i made this tonight the only thing i did'nt have was the onion soup mix. i rubbed the meat with cracked black pepper and salt then added the other ingredients it was brilliant. will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khadz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Yesterday was my first time ever making brisket and my family LOVED it! My mom asked me for the recipe today so she can make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Deevah Socialite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snow Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I really improvised and used Dr. Pepper instead of cola, Kraft Original BBQ sauce instead of chili sauce, and added a bit of liquid smoke. I used a 5-pound brisket and baked it at 250 degrees for 6 hours. It was SO tender. I thickened the sauce with a little flour/water and ladled it over the meat. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buffalochef
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Reading through reviews, I too changed it up just a tad. First , I use buffalo... The night before, I rubbed the brisket with chili powder mixture I like called ChugWater Chili. A blend of red chili, salt, garlic powder, onion powder, brown sugar, masa, and 6 secret spices.... and sprinkled liquid smoke on it. Rolled and wrapped it in plastic wrap. Before I put it in the oven, I seared it on a really hot grill, the poured mesquite smoke to it from a wood chip fire box in my grill for about 20 minutes with no other heat. I stuck to, but doubled the sauce recipe..... and it is marvelous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffalochef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States