Oven Barbecued Beef Brisket I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This recipe renders a fork-tender, juicy and flavorful brisket. As others have suggested, I substituted a cup of beer for the water. One (perhaps obvious) note; before slicing the brisket, let it rest for 10-15 minutes to allow the juices to re-distribute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I messed this recipe up and it still came out wonderful! The only brisket I could find was a tiny little 2 pounder, and I misread the directions and cooked it an hour a lb and then sliced it, put on sauce, and cooked it another hour. But even with the additional cooking time it came out unbelievably tender and full of flavor. I did put some liquid smoke on the meat along with garlic salt and pepper. It was great, and we will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Wonderful! I made it in the crockpot and then finished it in the oven for the last hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I eyed the seasonings, so I added a bit more than the reciepe called for. It turned out great. We never made a brisket before, but now we will be making it a lot. I did not add the water, I mixed the sauce with the brisket drippings and added that to the meat. I was flavorfull and tender. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
I used this recipe for the brisket we served at our Kentucky Derby party. It was so easy to make. Everyone enjoyed the taste and asked for the recipe. I did not slice it until after we pulled it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
Incredible!!! This recipe was so simple and delicious. The meat was really tender and flavorful. If you'd like to add some "kick" to your meat, sprinkle some red cayenne pepper on the meat and add a little Franks Red Hot sauce in with the barbecue and water mixture. Yummie!! Also great cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
I have a knack for turning roasted meats into shoe leather. NOT THIS TIME!! Used a small skirt streak (1 1/4lb), my favorite BBQ rub, baked 1 hr, added BBQ sauce thinned with beer, baked another hour. Put reduced BBQ sauce over sliced meat - Excellent! (Used web site tool to adjust ingredients to fit meat portion)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This was the most simple recipe I could find and my brisket turned out delicious! I cooked it at 250 because I was going to be gone for several hours and it turned out wonderful. Thank you for an easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
This recipe was very easy and delicious! I added chopped celery and sliced onions to the brisket before cooking. However, slicing it before cooking it the last hour made it a little dry. Overall, though, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TWEETJOANN
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe...I used Jack Daniels Original Barbeque Sauce when making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWEETJOANN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monmouth Junction, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States