Oven Barbecued Beef Brisket I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Super simple and delicious. Reviewers who say it's too fatty should be aware that with Brisket, most recipes tell you to remove as much of the thick fat layer as you can before cooking. This recipe unfortunately doesn't tell you that, but it's almost always a good idea. The only other changes I made to this recipe were 1) I put a thin layer of barbecue sauce on the meat for the first round of cooking, then more in the second (after slicing), and 2) I split the cooking time approximately in half, rather than just leaving an hour of cooking after slicing the meat . Incidentally, reviewers who say their meat turned out (or usually turns out) like shoe leather should be careful about which cuts of meat they use for slow cooking like this. You need a fatty, gristly cut like brisket because the collagen (in the gristle) breaks down slowly and tenderizes the meat. Leaner, finer cuts like steaks don't have much gristle and are much better for grilling, searing, frying, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I did as other recommended and replaced the water with beer. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I had never made a brisket before and I ended up following other reviews and using beer... I wish I hadn't. I will make it again, but this time I will follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
It may have just been because I have a slight cold but it didn't seem to have as much flavor as I liked. It was tender and easy to cut and chew. A little extra spice would have provided something nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I don't usualy write reviews but......this brisket was AMAZING! Followed directions exactly and it came out perfect. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Great brisket recipe!! When I cook brisket again, this will be the recipe that I will use!!! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Most tender brisket ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Decent flavor. I mixed my BBQ sauce with beef stock. The beef itself came out super dry. Would not make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
MMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States