Oven Baked Zucchini Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
These were super! In the interest of health I did not use melted butter, but used Olive Oil instead...the coating adhered to the oil and they baked very quickly, with a great flavor. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Okay, so I modified the recipe, but they were still delicious! I used my own breadcrumbs, added some onion powder and italian seasoning to the dry mix, and instead of egg, I used 1 T.avocado oil and 1 T apple cider vinegar to dip the zucchini in. It took about 30 minutes for them to cook- I cooked them about 10 min. on broil after the original time so they would be crispy. My daughter LOVED them! I will be making these again- they were so much more enjoyable than frying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This is absolutely fantastic! I love the deep-fried zucchini you get at some restaurants, but some places make it too greasy. This is so much better. I used panko bread crumbs, and to dip I made garlic aioli from another recipe on this site. No trouble eating up the zucchini neighbors leave on my porch! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
An excellent recipe! I took the advice of another reviewer and coated them in egg white instead of butter. I cooked them 5 minutes each side at 450, then broiled 2 minutes each side. They came our crispy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Nice alternative to traditional fries. I used egg white instead of butter to dip the zucchini into before adding the crumb coating. This worked very well for me, and the coating stuck really well. This also cut down on the fat and calories to make this a reasonably healthy side dish. I also chose not to peel my zucchini. My kids preferred theirs dipped in ranch, but my husband and I enjoyed these as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I just love these! They're really good and just about the only way I can get my husband to eat zucchini. I've made them several times, but this last time I used panko bread crumbs and seasoned them myself. I also used olive oil. Delicious! I dip them in ketchup but my husband likes them in honey mustard. I bet some ranch dressing would be tasty for a dip, too! Great way to eat up all the zucchini my mom is giving me from her garden. And since they're healthier than your normal fries, I'm calling them Bikini Zucchini Fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This recipe is a fun way to use zucchini. However, the breading on was a little overpowering. If I try this again I will REALLY shake off the excess coating (had I coated the fries less I would have rated this recipe higher). I didn't have Italian seasoned bread crumbs so I used regular and added italian seasoning. I used 3 zucchini's so tripled the recipe to have enough mixture. I would recommend adding the breading mixture to pie plate as needed. the butter/marg makes it clumpy so the final fries are hard to coat. I also made the Garlic Ailoli and added roasted red pepper for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Yum! I used 2 garden fresh zucchini, and left the skin on. I made my own bread crumbs with some stale whole wheat bread & used my homemade italian seasoning. Didn't use that much butter & threw in some of my low sodium cajun seasoning. My husband thought they needed to cook a bit longer, but I thought they were good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Really good!!! I made them in the toaster oven. Quick and easy and delicious thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I adore fried zucchini but don't want the fat from a deep fryer so oven baked is the way to go. I might add that I have fried the zucchini in the past and now that I've tried oven baked I prefer it this way. I did modify the recipe slightly. I like the spear shape better, so I cut 2 zucchini in half to make shorter spears (left seeds in since they were not big), then each half was divided into 8 spears. I used 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese and 2/3 cup Panko crumbs (instead of bread crumbs) and I added garlic salt and lemon pepper to taste (didn't measure, just added then tasted to see if I added enough - start with less then you think you need, add more if wanted). I scrambled 2 eggs to dip the zucchini into instead of butter before coating them with my crumbs, but used a little butter to grease my foil since I didn't have any cooking spray. I baked mine for 25 mins (I like them crispy!) @ 425 in a convection toaster oven (didn't even bother turning them) and they came out perfect. I had to bake them in 2 batches because my oven is small. But still this was easier on me than deep frying because you don't have to stand over the stove monitoring the frying process and I was able to get more spears into my oven than I could have fit in a frying pan. Will be doing this again SOON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States