Oven Baked Zucchini Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I did a few things differently. It was faster for me to just slice the zucchini (unpeeled). I also used 2 Tbsp. of milk and 1 egg white mixed together, instead of the butter. Near the end of the cooking time, I set the oven to broil to crisp them up. I also, flipped them once half way through baking. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Really good. We have never slurped down Zucchini so quickly. I had to fry it because the oven was busy and I changed it to saffron oil for a higher smoke point. Next time, if I were going to fry it, I would put on a egg coating, flour coating, egg coating and then crumbs and cheese coating so that more of the coating would stick to the zucchini. But since this was a baked recipe I would hardly hold that against this. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it didn't have an epic enough "wow" factor. Peoples complements were all "for zucchini, this is great.." and I thought a five star shouldn't have the "for zucchini" qualifier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Hubby loved this! So easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
just sprayed with canola oil and sprinkled with parmesan--yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Awesome! But I would recommend baking a little longer if you like crunchy fries. They get a little soggy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
These zucchini fries were labor intensive for the results. The coating was rather bland-- my dining companion and I had to add more seasoned salt as we went. The zucchini became a little slimy; the texture was unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
yummy - dipped in egg instead of butter and used panko crumbs as that is what I had on hand. They were fabulous - will try butter next time but i was out.. javascript:void(0);
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Waumsley-Sharpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Too salty eventhough I rinsed and dried well before coating and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was easy and delicious and I will do it again! I did tweak it a bit - I used olive oil instead of butter and I didn't peel the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I adore fried zucchini but don't want the fat from a deep fryer so oven baked is the way to go. I might add that I have fried the zucchini in the past and now that I've tried oven baked I prefer it this way. I did modify the recipe slightly. I like the spear shape better, so I cut 2 zucchini in half to make shorter spears (left seeds in since they were not big), then each half was divided into 8 spears. I used 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese and 2/3 cup Panko crumbs (instead of bread crumbs) and I added garlic salt and lemon pepper to taste (didn't measure, just added then tasted to see if I added enough - start with less then you think you need, add more if wanted). I scrambled 2 eggs to dip the zucchini into instead of butter before coating them with my crumbs, but used a little butter to grease my foil since I didn't have any cooking spray. I baked mine for 25 mins (I like them crispy!) @ 425 in a convection toaster oven (didn't even bother turning them) and they came out perfect. I had to bake them in 2 batches because my oven is small. But still this was easier on me than deep frying because you don't have to stand over the stove monitoring the frying process and I was able to get more spears into my oven than I could have fit in a frying pan. Will be doing this again SOON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States