Oven Baked Zucchini Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
These were super! In the interest of health I did not use melted butter, but used Olive Oil instead...the coating adhered to the oil and they baked very quickly, with a great flavor. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I thought these tasted okay and I liked the fact that they cooked in the time specified. I used whipped butter to cut the saturated fat and calories and seasoned my own plain bread crumbs to make Italian bread crumbs. My zucchini I thought was a little small so I used 2 and still had nearly half the bread crumb mixture, as I suspected. I wouldn't really call these fries other than the wedge type shape, but they are similar to other similar recipes on here for baked zucchini chips. Although, I did prefer this thicker cut style more and that the bread crumbs were lighter because the zucchini was not dipped in eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Yum! I used 2 garden fresh zucchini, and left the skin on. I made my own bread crumbs with some stale whole wheat bread & used my homemade italian seasoning. Didn't use that much butter & threw in some of my low sodium cajun seasoning. My husband thought they needed to cook a bit longer, but I thought they were good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Simply wonderful, will be making again. So much better for you then fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Oven Baked Zucchini Fries Haiku: "These were just okay. (Spicy Ranch Dressing dip helped.) Bit too soggy." I made as directed, (except I didn't see any reason to peel the zucchini), but found that 15 min. in the oven wasn't long enough for them to brown up, so I flipped 'em, and kicked it to broil. I adore zucchini in all its prepared forms and flavor additions, but these were a bit wiggly for me. I did; however, make AR's "Spicy Spicy Ranch Dressing" for dipping, and that was nummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Okay, so I modified the recipe, but they were still delicious! I used my own breadcrumbs, added some onion powder and italian seasoning to the dry mix, and instead of egg, I used 1 T.avocado oil and 1 T apple cider vinegar to dip the zucchini in. It took about 30 minutes for them to cook- I cooked them about 10 min. on broil after the original time so they would be crispy. My daughter LOVED them! I will be making these again- they were so much more enjoyable than frying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
These were pretty good and fairly easy. I think calling them fries is a little misleading though. Mine were still mushy and barely crispy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
These do not get crisp, so if you are expecting a crunchy exterior you will be dissapointed. I used plain breadcrumbs and seasoned with what my family likes. Will make again is nice side with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmyb
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I just love these! They're really good and just about the only way I can get my husband to eat zucchini. I've made them several times, but this last time I used panko bread crumbs and seasoned them myself. I also used olive oil. Delicious! I dip them in ketchup but my husband likes them in honey mustard. I bet some ranch dressing would be tasty for a dip, too! Great way to eat up all the zucchini my mom is giving me from her garden. And since they're healthier than your normal fries, I'm calling them Bikini Zucchini Fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Really good!!! I made them in the toaster oven. Quick and easy and delicious thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States