Oven Baked Zucchini Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
These zucchini fries were labor intensive for the results. The coating was rather bland-- my dining companion and I had to add more seasoned salt as we went. The zucchini became a little slimy; the texture was unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
yummy - dipped in egg instead of butter and used panko crumbs as that is what I had on hand. They were fabulous - will try butter next time but i was out.. javascript:void(0);
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Too salty eventhough I rinsed and dried well before coating and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was easy and delicious and I will do it again! I did tweak it a bit - I used olive oil instead of butter and I didn't peel the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I adore fried zucchini but don't want the fat from a deep fryer so oven baked is the way to go. I might add that I have fried the zucchini in the past and now that I've tried oven baked I prefer it this way. I did modify the recipe slightly. I like the spear shape better, so I cut 2 zucchini in half to make shorter spears (left seeds in since they were not big), then each half was divided into 8 spears. I used 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese and 2/3 cup Panko crumbs (instead of bread crumbs) and I added garlic salt and lemon pepper to taste (didn't measure, just added then tasted to see if I added enough - start with less then you think you need, add more if wanted). I scrambled 2 eggs to dip the zucchini into instead of butter before coating them with my crumbs, but used a little butter to grease my foil since I didn't have any cooking spray. I baked mine for 25 mins (I like them crispy!) @ 425 in a convection toaster oven (didn't even bother turning them) and they came out perfect. I had to bake them in 2 batches because my oven is small. But still this was easier on me than deep frying because you don't have to stand over the stove monitoring the frying process and I was able to get more spears into my oven than I could have fit in a frying pan. Will be doing this again SOON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
These were delicious. I made as per the instructions. I will definitely make these again. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Completely unimpressed. The flavor was okay. The zucchini was soggy, even though I followed the directions exactly and baked until the crumb coating itself was crispy. I'll find another way to cook zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hodgenville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
delicious!!!! only thing i did different was used Parmesan Shake and Bake to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cole8587

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
These were pretty good - don't overcook or they will be a bit mushy on the inside. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
These were a hit with my picky 7 yr old. I just sold them as "veggie sticks". I added some ground flax seed to the mix too for some extra fiber and used olive oil as another person had suggested in lieu of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States