Oven Baked Zucchini Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Yum. For the first time ever, I used the salt, drain, rinse, and dry method to prep the zucchini to extract excess moisture. It made a Huge difference. I cut the (smallish) zucchini in half and then each half into 8 spears. I used half egg white, half olive oil to coat; then half parm, half panko with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. The spears were small enough to stand them up on the skin side (I always leave the skin on, that's where the good stuff is!) and I didn't have to turn them during cooking, and they only took about fifteen minutes to cook to perfection - ten minutes at 425, and five under the broiler. So delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Caraloopy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was easy, tasty, and a different way for me to prepare zuchinni. It was our "starch" substitute so I didn't mind the coating. I did use crushed panko with olive oil and dried herbs, thought I will try bread crumbs next time to see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
The recipe needs a better binder - not much of the crumbs stuck. I will try it again will egg whites. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
we thought these were great- will make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
The taste was ok. It was edible. But, the texture really threw me off. Nothing like fries. They were too soft and floppy. I was hoping for something crispy. Plus, the breading made a weird crust. Felt like sand on a worm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Beaudet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Excellent recipe, much healthier than frying. I did use olive oil instead of the margarine. Also I think the next time I make this I will put them on a rack so they can get a little crunchier,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Just tried this recipe and am very disappointed! I followed the recipe exactly and they were mushy inside. I have zucchini at least 3 times a week (usually zucchini pancakes, grilled or sautéed with or without sauce) and definitely will not be making this ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JillyBean
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Made recipe exactly as written. I loved them. Quick & easy to prepare. Crisp & full of flavor. My 12 yr old wasn't crazy about the buttery taste but ate a few. I would make them again, may consider substituting half with oil or egg white instead of butter & see how that goes over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Awesome! Easy to make! And also great recipe to have kids help making. Kids loved dipping in butter and then crumbs. Served with ranch dipping sauce. Definitely going in recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
It was good - not a lot of flavor. Will experiment with the breading next time and bake for longer to get them crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States