Oven Baked Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Thanks for the awesome technique for making rice! I love rice, especially Jasmine and Basmati, but can never get it just right on the stove, and don't always feel like getting the rice cooker out. This is perfect! Just dump everything in, and that's it! Instead of doing the water mixture on the stove, I just put it all in my baking dish (minus the rice) and stuck it in the microwave til everything was melted and mixed together. I then dumped the rice in and stuck it in the oven. That saved having to wash a pot. After 25 minutes of baking, I gave it all a stir and noticed that the rice on the bottom was a bit soggy, so I mixed it up so that rice was on the top and stuck it back in the oven to dry out a bit. I ended up cooking it for about 27-28 minutes and it was perfect and fluffy. The only thing I might change next time is to use less butter, maybe half the amount, but otherwise this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Got kinda dry. Will bake covered in the future. Rates delicious anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Megan
Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Finally, I can walk away without bubbly rice mess to come back to! I threw everything in the pan except for the water, then measured the water and tossed the dish in the oven. It was a make-ahead for tomorrow night's fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I've made this several times with brown rice. The ONLY way to cook brown rice. I pack it in 3 c. containers for the freezer after we have the first batch for supper - only 2 of us for supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Love this recipe. I threw everything in together and it was perfect. I put 2 cups of water instead of 2 1/2 cups. I did not put the salt in. Best recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelsparkles2013

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I made it exactly the way the recipe was written. It was delicious with a great buttery taste. Has anyone tried to double this recipe, or used brown rice instead of white?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skygal0330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I've made this recipe several times as written and it is yummy. Today I made a few changes. I wanted to double the recipe and add a new flavor. I used coconut oil in place of the butter. I also added chopped colorful mini peppers and green onions. I set the oven on 350, assembled as directed, added the peppers and onions and covered the baking dish. I baked for 30 minutes, removed cover and baked for 15 minutes more. I stirred about halfway through the last 15 minutes. After removing the dish from the oven I let it stand for about 20 minutes before stirring. The coconut flavor is faint but a nice addition. For a great baked brown rice recipe try Alton Browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I have been making Jasmine rice this way for a few years know. My family absolutely loves this dish. I will continue making for my family this way!!! I double it cause it goes so fast!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
My family has declared this to be the best rice ever. The grandkids ask for seconds on just the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I have made this 3 times in the past month. I will never buy white rice again!! I followed directions as states and everyone loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States