Oven Baked Potato Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by EdPeters1
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Actually I have to give this a bad review more because of my error more then anything, but they still weren't good. We followed the recipe including "rolling" them in bread crumbs (which is a mistake). They came out done pretty much right but there was waaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much bread crumbs. I would recommend maybe just sprinkling some on the potatoes with some other seasonings. I guess I would try to make these again but I would never roll them in the bread crumbs again...it was like eating a mouthful of sand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdPeters1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Made recipe just as suggested and found it to be very bland & had to bake the potatoes at 450 for about 30 min. I do think the recipe is a good starting point, but, next time I'll take the reviewers suggestions and add quite a bit more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Pretty good. I ground up buttery round crackers instead of bread crumbs and mixed in 2 TBS parmesan cheese and some ranch mix. I coated them with olive oil and baked them at 450 for the same amount of time. Crispy and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I didn't think it was anything super special. made my own seasoned bread crumbs. from the reviews i thought it was going to become some sort of magic potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I gave this a try and the whole family loved it. We cook ours to be a bit more on the crispy side. And to make it a bit more healthy, we use a margarine spray to coat the potato wedges before coating with bread crumbs (and other seasonings.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Use olive oil, and bake at 450. They get brown and crispy instead of mushy. I sprinkled them with Montreal Steak Seasoning, and they were de-lish! The next day I cut up the wedges and fried them and sprinkled grated cheese on top, and had a fast breakfast that everyone RAVED over. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This is an all-right basic recipe, but it's a bit ho-hum. I would DEFINITELY cook it at 450 instead of 350 (it took about 45 minutes at 350), and I think I'd tent the cookie sheet with foil for most of the cycle, as mine came out a bit dry. Overall, the taste was OK, but you should certainly add in other spices to your liking - I added salt, pepper, and blackened seasoning. I'm sure garlic, seasoning salt, maybe even lemon pepper would kick these up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
We were running pretty low on food but I needed a snack to make for a couple of last minute friends who were coming over. I didnt have bread crumbs, but I did have cheese! I spread grated cheese over all the wedges, and let them cook for an extra minute. I also cooked them at 450 degrees, as recommended by another reviewer, so they would be a little more golden. Some people dipped them in ranch, and some used salsa, but these wedges were a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Great recipe! I used olive oil instead of butter and added parmesean cheese and ranch dressing mix to the bread crumbs. Also, I baked at 450 degrees and left the skins on. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaime
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
These were wonderful! I put olive oil in a zip lock baggie and shook the wedges in there to coat. I crushed up crutons and put them in a second baggie with some extra salt and pepper. I then shook up the wedges in the second baggie. I cooked them on 450 until brown without turning. Absoulutely wonderful! I will definitely make these again. So easy to make and better than french fries because you can actually taste the potato. And as a bonus, my husband loved them! He dipped them in ranch and said he wouldn't have changed a thing about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States