Oven Baked Potato Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This was a good recipe, but I too modified it according to some of the suggestions. I tossed the wedges in a container with melted butter til coated and then sprinkled on about 3/4 c. plain bread crumbs and tossed again to coat well. I transferred them to a greased baking pan, covered it tightly with foil and baked at 400 for 30 minutes. I then removed foil and baked another 30 minutes also at 400 until fork tender. I finished them up by putting them under the broiler for maybe 15 minutes stirring every few minutes until browned. My family really liked them and suggested that they would be a good basis for the cheesy fries we sometimes make with nacho cheese, sour cream, chopped onions, bacon, etc. over hot fries. Or perhaps as a basis for chili fries with chili and cheese over them. They were good, but denfinitely not a quick dish to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Whoever says these only take 20 minutes to bake is crazy. Mine took about 50 minutes, and even then they weren't even close to being overcooked or well-done. My family thought there were too many bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I modified this a bit. I brushed wedges with olive oil then sprinkled cajun seasoning and dry Good Seasonings Garlic Herb dressing mix. I baked longer than 20 min. I put skin side down on foil and baked till they were tender and golden on top. Did not add crumbs. These were very good to go with roasted chicken.Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
WHEN I do make these again, I will also (as others suggested) just use the olive oil and/or butter, season them (cayenne, paprika, garlic & onion powders) and maybe then "sprinkle" them with the bread crumbs. They were good, but I think loosing the crumbs would be better. I LOVE the baking aspect, as I am not the best food fryer (waiting for that fry daddy) Thanks for a good start Sue. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I agree with an earlier review to just add some seasoning to the wedges and bake without the bread crumbs. The outside of the wedges were similar to cheesesticks but not as crunchy. I think this recipe would be better if the wedges were fried to get a crispy coating or the cook time in the oven needs to be increased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
VERY tasty!! I used plain bread crumbs and added all-season salt and italian seasonings...mixed to taste. Baked well and tasted better. Only minor complaint is that a slotted spoon should be used to transfer the fries from the baking sheet to your serving dish. Doing otherwise results in excess crumbs that make it hard to find the fries among all the crumbs. Still, will make these again and again! Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This was pretty good, but I wasn't blown away by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This is a unique way to make potatoes, which I'm always looking for. The seasoned bread crumbs have a great flavor - I just add some salt when they first come out of the oven. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Yum! My husband and I couldn't stop eating these. They were so good. We dipped some of them in Ranch dressing and others in ketchup. This recipe is very simple and one I will add to my cookbook of favorites. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
These were ok, I could not find seasoned bread crumbs, I just used normal ones. I also cooked way longer as to get the potatoes crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States